Home > Fun Stuff, Lady > The “Lady” has a secret.

The “Lady” has a secret.


Hi everyone!

It’s me! Your delicious, scrumptious, sweet little Sheltie friend. Remember me? I was lost for 12 days last year and lived to tell you about it.

Oh. I didn’t tell you about it? Are you sure?

Well, maybe some things are better of left unsaid.

Let’s just say I am very happy to be back home. 🙂

In an unusual moment of insanity, Mom has decided to let me take over the keyboard today. I have to tell you, she’s a bit reluctant to let me do so. She knows why I want to write today and she’s a bit nervous about the whole thing.

But, I convinced her it was important. I told her it was time.

“Time for what?” you ask.

Well, it’s time to reveal my little secret.

It’s something I have keeping from you for some time now. Something that only those closest to me know.

Lady is not my real name.

“What?” you ask, “What do you mean Lady isn’t your real name?”

I know. It’s a shocker (almost as shocking as who shot J.R. in Dallas).

Lady is a really great name. I prance around like a lady, I look as beautiful as a little lady and I often clean my paws at the end of a good meal (what lady wouldn’t?). But, such a serious name can also be so limiting. After all, how can one be silly if they are expected to act like a Lady all of the time?

I am sworn to secrecy about the reasons behind my public name change, but I can tell you that the reason for the change was a good one. I was in the Witness Protection Program for Dogs.

What? You’ve ever heard of it? Ask your dogs. I am SURE they have heard about the WPPD (Witness Protection Program for Dogs). Every dog knows about it. It’s our last resort when we get into trouble. “Contact the WPPD if you ever need help.” That’s what all dogs say to one another.

And you thought you knew everything about us. Ha! Did I also tell you about our secret society? No? Well, maybe I should leave that one for another day. 🙂

I can tell you that I am now out of the WPPD (thanks to my mom). Getting a forever home meant I could leave the WPPD. And now that I am safe, I can come out of the dog house.

Oh. You can still call me Lady if you want. I won’t mind. I just prefer mom call me my real name. (To be honest, I think she’s  having a hard time trying to keep the two names straight. She often forgets and calls me by my real name in public. I hear that humans have trouble remembering things as they get older.)

So what is my real name you ask?

Let’s see if you can guess.

My name is….

Still not sure?

No. My name is not Birthday or Candle or Happy Birthday.

It’s…

Cupcake, a.k.a. Cuppers, a.k.a. Cupperdoo

  1. To Shea
    October 15, 2012 at 11:53 PM

    So the Lady is really a Cupcake….LOL…just kidding..:-)
    Is this really true a WPPD…..do they have a website?
    If it IS true, this is Very Interesting!

    • Mel
      October 16, 2012 at 6:45 AM

      LOL! She really is Alex and Penny.
      I asked Cupcake about the WPPD website. She said that it wouldn’t be the WPPD if it was on the web. Go figure. 🙂

  2. October 16, 2012 at 1:48 AM

    I like Cupcake. Give me some sugar, cupcake! 🙂 Here’s looking at you, kid.

    • Mel
      October 16, 2012 at 6:43 AM

      Thanks Sankissjuice! Sugar it is!

  3. October 16, 2012 at 4:15 AM

    What a perfect little treat for a lovely little “lady”:)

    • Mel
      October 16, 2012 at 6:43 AM

      Thank you! I do think I am quite the treat. 🙂

  4. October 16, 2012 at 4:48 AM

    I knew Lady had an alter-ego when you referred to her as Cupcake on Facebook. I had no idea it had to do with the WPD. I just assumed she was a costumed crime fighter with a secret identity. 🙂

    • Mel
      October 16, 2012 at 6:43 AM

      LOL! Yes. Her silly side is definitely under the name Cupcake. (Pssst! Pamela – She IS a costumed rime fighter.) 🙂

      • October 16, 2012 at 3:22 PM

        I knew it! We’ve always needed a caped crusader against puppy mills (or cruel canine companies to keep the alliteration going.)

      • Mel
        October 17, 2012 at 6:50 AM

        I agree Pamela!

  5. October 16, 2012 at 5:44 AM

    a lovely name and a beautiful girl

    • Mel
      October 16, 2012 at 6:46 AM

      Thanks Catherine Anne. I must admit when I first heard her name as her foster mom, I kind of cringed. I was like “Cupcake?”
      But you know what? She likes it and it fits her. Who am I to change it? (Plus, I love calling her Cupperdoo. Makes me smile.

  6. Kelly
    October 16, 2012 at 7:52 AM

    What a perfect name for a perfect lil sweet!

    • Mel
      October 17, 2012 at 6:54 AM

      Thank you Kelly! I don’t have any frosting on me, but I like to think I’m sweet like chocolate. 🙂

  7. October 16, 2012 at 7:57 AM

    Sweet name for a sweet dog!

    • Mel
      October 17, 2012 at 6:53 AM

      Why thank you Lori! Mom says that to me too. 🙂

  8. Mary
    October 16, 2012 at 8:45 AM

    This brings tears to my eyes…its so sweet! I love your real name, Cupcake!!<3

    • Mel
      October 17, 2012 at 6:52 AM

      Thanks Mary! You are so sweet. I love your big heart. 🙂

  9. October 16, 2012 at 9:27 AM

    Cupcake is a perfect name, and it’s one I’d be likely to choose at some point for one of our dogs, if I were giving them a name. Actually, one of Bunny’s nicknames is Pupcake! Anyway, I think it completely suits you, and I don’t mind saying that I’m a little hungry now!

    • Mel
      October 17, 2012 at 6:52 AM

      I love Pupcake. Mom says she may have to borrow that one. Sorry we made you hungry! 🙂

  10. October 16, 2012 at 10:26 AM

    A “Lady” by any name would still smell as SWEET as a CUPCAKE! You are just adorable!! Barks and licks and love Dakota
    http://www.dakotasden.wordpress.com

  11. October 16, 2012 at 1:25 PM

    I just finished reading Wallace’s book and he was in a sort of WPPD too! Very cool. I am so glad Lady/Cupcake found her way out of that situation and is now free to be herself.

    • Mel
      October 17, 2012 at 6:51 AM

      Wallace’s book Kristine? What’s the title?
      I’m glad Cupcake is now free to be herself too.

  12. October 16, 2012 at 7:21 PM

    Oh I like Cupperdoo! I like that big happy smile on your first picture too…so pretty!

    • Mel
      October 17, 2012 at 6:50 AM

      Thanks Boomdeeadda!(I like Cupperdoo too.)

  13. October 17, 2012 at 2:24 AM

    Does Cupcake like cupcakes? I know it’s a silly question since most dogs love anything sugary.

    • Mel
      October 17, 2012 at 6:48 AM

      She does love cupcakes!!! LOL! 🙂

  14. October 17, 2012 at 9:09 AM

    I guessed it as soon as I saw the picture!! I love your name, is it okay if we all call you by it too?

  15. October 17, 2012 at 3:57 PM

    Such a sweet name for a sweet pup! Lady Cupcake, if you use them together, makes you sound like royalty!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

