Home > Daisy, Jasper, Lady, Pet Ponderings > How do you imagine your Rainbow Bridge reunion?

How do you imagine your Rainbow Bridge reunion?


On Monday I learned that a friend had lost her beloved husband to cancer, after a very short but hard-fought battle over these past three weeks. I couldn’t help but be sad for her and for the animals they shared. They didn’t know he wouldn’t be coming home when he went into the hospital for pneumonia. I know they all miss him terribly. I have no doubt that one day Greg and Ecco (their Chocolate Lab) will reunite happily at the Rainbow Bridge where they can be together forever. At least, I believe it to be true.

Animal lovers often refer to the Rainbow Bridge when a beloved pet passes. All of us hope to one day meet up with our pets at that bridge and cross over it together on our way to heaven. But when we think of that rainbow bridge, and what lies beyond, what do we imagine it to look like? Do we take the time to imagine what that reunion will be like? And, what do we imagine what we (our dogs and us) will do when we get there?

In my mind, the Rainbow Bridge is more beautiful than any human words can describe. The reunion with my pets more joyous than I can ever imagine.

I hope my last two dogs, Indy and Aspen, are there to greet me with smiling faces. I hope to see my first Sheltie, Alicia, spinning in excitement, as she did so often when she was here. I imagine my cat, Sebastian, wrapping his paw around my hand as we sleep together on a heavenly bed of clouds.

I also see my days spent in laughter as I watch my dogs running around heaven with their noses to the ground, exploring it with joy and excitement. I see Alicia curled up at the foot of my bed every evening and Jasper chasing his ball over and over again during the day. I imagine my little Lady barking her excitement at first seeing me, and then licking me on the tip of my nose, as she does now when she is happy. I imagine Daisy confident and strong, and just as gentle as she is today; happy to sit with me by a river or lake, or to leap in with her tail wagging as she happily paddles around.

I imagine the world beyond that Rainbow Bridge to be better than my best day with my dogs on earth, because it is there I will see them at their most strong, most healthy and most happiest.

After reading about Colton Burpo’s death (and return) in “Heaven is for Real” I feel even more assured that I will one day see my pets again – both at the Rainbow Bridge and beyond. If Colton says there are dogs in heaven I am more than happy to believe him.

So how do you imagine your reunion at that rainbow bridge? Who will you see? What will you do?

The Rainbow Bridge Poem
Just this side of heaven is a place called the Rainbow Bridge.
When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to the Rainbow Bridge.
There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.
All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor. Those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by. The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.
They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent. His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.
You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again.
The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head. You look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.
Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together…
Author Unknown

Rainbow Bridge Pictures, Images and Photos

Greg – wherever you are, I hope that everything you imagined heaven to be is true. I have no doubt that your pets greeted you at that Rainbow Bridge or that you crossed over together. That is as it should be. Godspeed.

  1. October 8, 2012 at 11:16 PM

    I tend to think that it will be a little different for everybody, meeting each person and dog’s ideal when they get there.

    • Mel
      October 9, 2012 at 6:13 AM

      I love that. Maybe that is exactly what it is like. Wouldn’t it be awesome if it were our ideal place and different for everyone?

  2. October 8, 2012 at 11:22 PM

    This post brought tears to my eyes — our pets are as intertwined with our lives and memories of our loved ones as our human relations in many cases. Peace to your friend and hopefully her pets will help provide some comfort. As for the Rainbow Bridge, I have always liked this video depicting the poem’s story: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZcQvYh_3Atw ~ Kat

    • Mel
      October 9, 2012 at 6:12 AM

      I apologize for the tears. Yes. Or pets are definitely intertwined with our lives. Thanks for your kind words for my friend. I hope the pets they shared brings her comfort now.

  3. To Shea
    October 9, 2012 at 12:47 AM

    Some people say that Pets go to a different Heaven than us….I found that a bit surprising and scary. I could not imagine NOT seeing Penny in Heaven along with all our other Loved ones who have passed. Weather they are Dogs, Cats or people, I always thought I would see them again in Heaven.
    I Love the Poem and the photo…makes my cry a little bit…;-)
    Alex and Penny
    Oh…
    Penny says Woof…Woof…:-)
    She so funny sometimes…LOL

    • Mel
      October 9, 2012 at 6:11 AM

      I agree Alex. That would be scary and suprising to me too. I cannot imagine a heaven without my dogs. If there is a different spot in heaven for our pets, then I want to be there. 🙂

  4. October 9, 2012 at 5:09 AM

    If pets went to a different Heaven, we would not have shared the SAME Earth.

    • Mel
      October 9, 2012 at 6:08 AM

      I love that Amelia. Beautifully said.

  5. Karen Hollebrands
    October 9, 2012 at 6:39 AM

    Sylvia Browne has said that when we get to the Other Side that all of our loved ones (people) are there waiting for us…. BUT, nosing their way through, are our beloved pets who are so very anxious to be the first ones to greet us. I’ve always loved that image.

  6. October 9, 2012 at 8:40 AM

    Beautiful post. I love your vision of the Rainbow Bridge.

  7. October 9, 2012 at 10:34 AM

    I read the first few pages of the book and downloaded it for my kindle. I once heard a story of a man walking along a country road with his dog, he came to a big gate (which was heaven) and was told that the dog was not allowed. The man said, thanks but no thanks, if he can’t come in, then I won’t either. (Ok, I paraphrased.) 🙂

    I don’t want to go if my dogs aren’t there, I do suspect that I will never leave the bridge, I will be content to stay with the dogs. 🙂

    I imagine the reunion with lots of wags, kisses and tears. I will be so happy to see my babies once again. Whatever we do after that will be a bonus.

    I hope your friend is enjoying his reunion at the bridge and his wife derives some comfort from that.

    Interesting and thought provoking post today. 🙂

  8. October 9, 2012 at 2:21 PM

    Lovely post. Actual bridge or no bridge, I believe that when I pass on to another form of existence/heaven, all my animals will be there to greet me. I imagine that without all the pressures and responsibilities that life on this earth requires, we’ll spend quality time relaxing, playing, catching up and just being together.

  9. October 9, 2012 at 2:30 PM

    I love the picture (you created?) and the idea of meeting all my dogs again. But being an agnostic/humanist who leans towards some form of reincarnation, it’s hard for me to think of heaven/the rainbow bridge in the usual way. I don’t know if our dogs are now hunting bunnies, journeying on, or are gone forever except in our memories and hearts. I’m just glad I knew them and sad I lost them.

    My sympathies to your friend’s family X

  10. October 10, 2012 at 12:15 AM

    Sweet, sad and touching. So sorry for your friend’s tragic loss. As for the Rainbow Bridge – I tend to think they never leave us. Long after they have departed this earth, I still feel their presence daily.

  11. Alicia x
    October 10, 2012 at 12:46 PM

    so sweet but so sad!
    that dog will be missed! 😥

  12. November 7, 2012 at 11:55 AM

    THank you for your thoughtful article There is also a poem for the Rainbow Bridge and Pet Reincarnation for those who believe in Animal life after death, angel animals and more
    http://petreincarnation.blogspot.com/

  13. March 28, 2014 at 5:18 PM

    My sweet beloved max was my german sheperd that had to be put to sleep cause he had cancer had a great life when he living on earth , the same way my sweet max had cancer my sweet beloved shebia who was my tortishell kitty cat also had to be put down due to cancer .will be waiting for me at the gates of rainbow bridge to cross over together with all licks and wagging their tails .also my other kiity cat who was a perrisan cat his name was junior died when I was at a younger age , and my other kittys name was trixie and anthore puppy name was appison who also died all of them will be there waiting for me

  14. James
    September 4, 2014 at 8:46 AM

    Thank you. My pet just passed..
    I find it hard her not being there in the morning when I wake.

    For the past 10 years you have been my best friend. In the beginning I saved your life. But in actuality you saved mine and more than once. Been there when Mom passed away. Through heart break and when it was mended. Always greeted me with a smile and wiggle. Never judged me. Never looked down on me. Listened when I needed to be heard. Snuggled when I needed to be. Knew when I needed a laugh. Knew when I needed to cry. Stole snacks when I didn’t need to eat them. You loved me with all your heart and soul. You were my little girl. My puppy. My defender. My rock. My pillow. My Mop when I spilled. My Cuddler. You made me smile. My Darth Taters. My Potato Head. My Sadie. Words can not describe the pain it has given me to let you go to a happy place. A place without pain and discomfort. A place without tiredness.

    At 3:50 today September 2nd, 2014 I had to let you go to a place I read about called the Rainbow Bridge.
    You will always be with me in my heart. I love you my sweet little Sadie.
    Like I have said, I may have saved your life in the beginning, but you have saved mine many more times after. I can never thank you enough for that.
    This video is the last walk we took. It was today before I let you go. You loved to swim and chase waves. I will remember it for all my days to come. I will see you at the Rainbow Bridge.

  15. Avery
    April 12, 2015 at 3:58 PM

    My pet died yesterday I loved him so very much

  16. Mary
    October 2, 2015 at 10:59 PM

    Dear God in heaven, I hope with all my heart, we ARE reunited with our pet family who have crossed over. Our ‘ toonsis’ , our’ baby kitty’, our ‘zoie’ and our beloved ‘Gracie-girl’.

    And, Our current family, lucy and ethyl and ms zeva. Life would not be ‘life ‘ without our fur babies.

    God bless all animal creatures God created.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

