Home > Dog Behavior, Favorite Video Friday, Fun Stuff, Pet Videos > Favorite Video Friday – So You Want a Newf?

Favorite Video Friday – So You Want a Newf?

September 6, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

This Friday I just had to share a friend’s video of her dog, Abbie.

Abbie is a Newfoundland and one of our dog park buddies. Like all Newfs, Abbie absolutely loves water. So you can imagine what fun she had when she found water in an unusual location. I hope you laugh as much as I did when I saw it. Her mom says it took her 2 hours to wash and dry her.

I am sure that my friend Jen over at My Brown Newfies will so jealous. Just imagine if this had been two Newfies instead of one? 🙂

Happy Friday everyone!

  1. September 6, 2012 at 11:19 PM

    Abbie, you need a hair band so you can see what you’re doing there. You gotta a real good hole started though.. They must buy their doggy shampo at Costco.

  2. September 6, 2012 at 11:27 PM

    Did the Newf actually find the water leak and dig that hole???
    Would be a pretty good sprinkler repair dog….LOL

  3. September 7, 2012 at 5:30 AM

    hahahaha love it

  4. Ellie bells
    September 7, 2012 at 6:50 AM

    Good job Abbie! Good job!

  5. September 7, 2012 at 8:39 AM

    LMAO! I have watched this video twice already this morning Mel! Thanks for laugh! It warms my heart to see this, seriously it does, because it is not me cleaning up! My first Newf did this once in a mud puddle in our backyard, I have a picture of him, he was such a mess and I was so mad but I couldn’t help laughing! Sherman loves to dig in the mud, luckily for me and for him he hasn’t got this into it!:)

  6. September 7, 2012 at 8:43 AM

    That’s awesome and hilarious…though I think I would cry if it were my dog covered in that much mud. 😛 LOL!

  7. September 7, 2012 at 9:12 AM

    Looks like she was trying really hard to fix that leak!! Tee Hee

    That’s a lot of mud to wash off! 🙂

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  8. September 7, 2012 at 10:27 AM

    Hahaha! So glad that dog won’t be tramping through my house anytime soon. Thanks for the reminder of why I adopted a dog with short fur. 🙂

  9. Abbies humans
    September 7, 2012 at 10:28 AM

    Yup, that is my dog. If there’s water she’ll be in it. Her humans found the leak and dug the hole, she just felt it necessary to “help.” De-mudding Abbie took over 2hrs and her humans were just as muddy and wet as she was. LOL

    Glad you liked the video Mel and thought it worthy of sharing on you blog. 🙂

  10. September 7, 2012 at 12:03 PM

    Abbie is adorable I have a newfie baloo be careful what you wish for is right. He is my third newf, all of them get into the bathtub and dig at the drain!

  11. September 7, 2012 at 3:07 PM

    Oh my!! She is so cute!! What a good little helper 🙂

    • Mel
      September 7, 2012 at 10:43 PM

      LOL! Is that what you’re calling it Jules? 🙂

  12. September 7, 2012 at 4:42 PM

    Oh goodness! I had a similar sprinkler situation with our last pup, also named Abby – but at least she was a less hairy shepherd/collie mix. She was enough of a mess, but a newf! Ooof!

    • Mel
      September 7, 2012 at 10:43 PM

      LOL! I know! That’s what I thought too. I love Abbie, but that would be some real work, cleaning a Newf after a mud bath. 🙂

  13. Rosie
    September 7, 2012 at 8:46 PM

    I used to take my newfy to the car wash for a heavy-duty bath (like this would need). Cost $1.25, water was warm and high pressure and he loved the “massage” action. I took my own shampoo and never used the engine degreaser option or the wax option (teehee) and the nice pressure washed out all the dead undercoat. He never looked better. I’d sweep up the hair, throw it in the trash can, and we’d go home happy. 😃

    • Mel
      September 7, 2012 at 10:42 PM

      That is hilarious Rosie. What an interesting way to wash a Newf!

  14. September 10, 2012 at 12:57 AM

    Thats make my day better :DDD

    • Mel
      September 10, 2012 at 9:27 PM

      Good! It made mine too. How can you not laugh and smile?

  15. September 13, 2012 at 3:00 PM

    Oh my. It’s definitely funnier when it’s not your dog.

    Good things she started out brown. Can you imagine what the Great Pyrenees would look like in the same spot?

    • Mel
      September 16, 2012 at 7:56 PM

      LOL! I think I am afraid to imagine!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

