Home > Daisy, Dog Behavior, Dog Park, Dog Training, Jasper, Lady > What my dogs did this weekend (in pictures)

What my dogs did this weekend (in pictures)


This weekend was quite a whirlwind. The weather was amazing so the dogs and I spent quite a bit if our time outdoors.

Here are just a few pictures of our weekend. What did you and your dog do this weekend?

Daisy enjoyed the Mississippi River

Jasper had fun chasing sticks

Lady was happy to check out a lot of new smells.

Mississippi River

Picture time! Daisy and Jasper are very treat-motivated.

Daisy and Lady waiting for their treats.

Jasper went sheep herding

Boy can he move!

The best part is that Jasper started to learn the importance of pacing himself. One doesn’t have to chase to control the sheep.

  1. Sam
    August 20, 2012 at 7:22 AM

    How fun! It is still so hot here – we are still forced to come up with indoor activities for the boys.

    Sam

    • Mel
      August 20, 2012 at 11:12 PM

      What a shame Sam. I spent my whole vacation sitting inside for the very same reason. It was not what I had planned. I sure hope you guys get some relief from the heat soon.

  2. Jen
    August 20, 2012 at 7:29 AM

    Wow! They had a lot of fun! My dogs didn’t have quite that much fun because I was staring at a picture of rocks that looked like a dog all weekend:))))

    I love the pics of Jasper herding!

    • Mel
      August 20, 2012 at 11:11 PM

      Jen – You so cracked me up today! I was laughing out loud at work!
      That darn pile of rocks! I promise not to do a dog one again. Lord knows what I will see next time. 🙂

  3. August 20, 2012 at 7:36 AM

    Looks like you had a great weekend, sure had perfect weather for all the activities! We went on long lazy walks both Saturday and Sunday. Just beautiful outside! It could stay like this all year.

    • Mel
      August 20, 2012 at 11:11 PM

      Wasn’t it awesome Carole?? I wanted to be outside all of the time. So did the dogs.
      Two long walks should have been enough, but I figured we had to do more to be outside more. A good excuse huh? 🙂

  4. August 20, 2012 at 1:31 PM

    I would love to find some sheep for Tina to herd. (And someone to teach her) Ike wouldn’t be as good at it

    • Mel
      August 20, 2012 at 11:10 PM

      I wish you could too. Have you checked around with some of the agility groups? Sometimes they know of someone teaching herding.

  5. August 20, 2012 at 2:31 PM

    Right on! It looks like all four of you had a blast. Though I bet Jasper thinks he had the most fun.

    Love the photos! I bet Jasper can move just as well as the shelties I watched at the agility trial this weekend. There was one who had very similar colouring to his, though not nearly as cute, of course.

    • Mel
      August 20, 2012 at 11:09 PM

      LOL! Of course. Definitely not AS cute! 🙂

      I know you and Shiva had your own fun. Planning to read your post tomorrow. I so loved seeing your pics on your FB page! Shiva would kick Jasper’s you know what.

      Jasper is quite agile. He was actually able to change direction at the last minute to adjust to the sheep he was herding. (He does think he had the most fun!) I love watching him work and I think his instructor does too. If I didn’t feel so guilty about leaving Daisy and Lady behind I would be taking him every week.

  6. To Shea
    August 20, 2012 at 3:21 PM

    We must say Mel…you DO take very good photos!!!
    It sure looks like you girls and guys had great fun this weekend!!!
    I noticed the Mississippi River is very narrow there, I guess it is at the northern part of it. Unless there is a draught right now.
    Penny and Alex

    • Mel
      August 20, 2012 at 11:05 PM

      Well thank you Alex! And here I was lamenting that they were so bad!
      I think the dogs were happy to see me go to work today. 🙂

      You are exactly right, the Mississippi ais very narrow here. I’m not sure why. I know that it starts up in Itaska State Park, but somehow at this pot it is more narrow. Just a mile or so away it is much, much wider. I may have to look this up. Maybe we’re in an inlet? No drought here. But now you have me wondering. Hmm…

  7. August 20, 2012 at 3:23 PM

    It looks like the dogs had a great time this past weekend. I still haven’t found a place to take my dogs to where they can get some swimming in.

    • Mel
      August 20, 2012 at 11:02 PM

      What a shame Jodi. I bet your Labs would love to be able to go swimming while out on a walk. I know Elka’s mom has a creek by them.
      It took me a while to find some good places to go. This one I will only do in the summer and fall. Too afraid my dogs would fall through the ice in winter.

  8. August 20, 2012 at 4:16 PM

    Nice pics of Jasper working the sheep! WE were lazy and went walkies on Sunday.

    • Mel
      August 20, 2012 at 10:58 PM

      Thanks Karen! I kind of wish we had been lazy, but watching Jasper really start to learn and understand how to work the sheep (vs. chase them) was so amazing. Plus, we got to watch a trained herding dog work. They are really awesome dogs.

  9. August 20, 2012 at 4:31 PM

    Wow! That sheep herding looks fun! We did nothing exciting. The usual Saturday organic markets, which dogs arent allowed into any more (BAH!). We ate bad delicious fried food and watched some forgettable telly, which Georgia slept through on her Cushion.

    • Mel
      August 20, 2012 at 10:57 PM

      It is a lot of fun Georgia! Organic markets sounds lovely. What a shame no dogs are allowed. I wonder why?
      I am hoping to eat some bad, fried foods soon. The Minnesota State Fair starts on Thursday and it is the est thing around. Then I might need a Cushion myself. Know where I can get one? 🙂

  10. August 20, 2012 at 8:48 PM

    What a fun weekend

    Stop on by for a visit
    Kari
    http://www.dogisgodinreverse.com

    • Mel
      August 20, 2012 at 10:55 PM

      It definitely was Kari!

  11. August 21, 2012 at 12:23 AM

    o boy, those eyes before the treats really suck me in. I can see Daisy is licking her chops. Go Jasper Go, you look very determined.

    • Mel
      August 21, 2012 at 10:07 PM

      LOL! Yes. The eyes say it all. I’m so glad it wasn’t “Give me the treats or else!”. 🙂
      Jasper is very focused when he is herding sheep. He even barks when he’s watching the other dogs working them.

  12. August 21, 2012 at 1:14 AM

    Now, that’s a fun weekend!

    • Mel
      August 21, 2012 at 10:06 PM

      Yes it was!

  13. August 21, 2012 at 9:45 AM

    We want to herd sheep like that! We think we would be really good at herding sheep…but probably not as good as you Jasper!

    • Mel
      August 21, 2012 at 10:02 PM

      You never know! I just happened to see your post today. Did you lose Shiloh?? I am so very sorry. I was so sad when I read that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

