Home > Dog Behavior, Dog Park, Favorite Video Friday, Jasper, Pet Videos > Favorite Video Friday – Jasper searches for his stick

Favorite Video Friday – Jasper searches for his stick


This week I thought I would so something a little different and share a homemade video of my Sheltie, Jasper.

Jasper is a crazy dog, but I absolutely adore him. How could I not? He’s cute, funny and keeps me on my toes. One of Jasper’s crazy obsessions is chasing his stick at the dog park. He is relentless in making sure I know it too. We always start off just walking (sans stick) at the dog park, but not for long. He stops at every stick he sees. Then he looks at it, looks at me, looks at it, looks at me.  You get the point I think.

This video is one of his never-ending searches for his stick. Did I mention he almost always runs ahead and forgets to stop and see where I’ve thrown it? Ah yes. We spend a lot of time looking for lost sticks.

I hope you get a kick out of his video as much as I do.

Happy Friday!

  1. August 16, 2012 at 11:22 PM

    Jasper is one determined boy!! That’s a lot of “stick” to it 🙂

  2. August 17, 2012 at 12:13 AM

    He’s so cute! He’s having such a good time stick-hunting!

    • Mel
      August 17, 2012 at 7:59 PM

      Thanks Jackie! Yes. If it’s not a stick it is a ball. Or a sheep. 🙂

  3. August 17, 2012 at 1:22 AM

    Hey Mel, thanks for bringing us with to the park, I had fun. I also watched ‘Zoomies after bathtime’ too…so funny how Daisy just mosies by in the background all casual and then there’s Jasper, what a nut (a cute nut). Ps. I started a Blogroll & put you on cause I just think you and your furry pals are adorable!

    • Mel
      August 17, 2012 at 7:59 PM

      Wow! Thanks Audrey! I need to get over to your blog. I am so crunched for time during the week that I usually have to wait until the weekends. I will add yours as soon as I get done with the dogs. Thankyou!

      • August 17, 2012 at 11:37 PM

        ooopps, I think you meant to sent to someone else? Boomdee

      • Mel
        August 18, 2012 at 2:13 PM

        Sorry Boom! I knew I shouldn’t have tried to respond to blog comments last night! Way too tired. 🙂

      • August 18, 2012 at 4:21 PM

        I’m always happy to hear from you Mel, but didn’t want to short change another fan. 🙂 Boomdee

      • Mel
        August 19, 2012 at 9:46 PM

        LOL! Thank you!

  4. To Shea
    August 17, 2012 at 10:54 AM

    Very cute video Mel!!!
    Where is Daisy when all this action is going on???
    Is Daisy just wondering by himself? Or do you take them out seperately?
    Alex and Penny

    • Mel
      August 17, 2012 at 7:58 PM

      LOL! She was sniffing some weeds right behind me. She has no interest in Jasper’s games. Too many smells to check out. 🙂
      Lady was there too. Also busy sniffing.

      • August 17, 2012 at 11:01 PM

        Ohhhhh, Ok…:-)
        Its always good to know that you other family members are watching you…LOL
        A big Woof Woof from Penny…;-)

  5. jan
    August 17, 2012 at 11:33 AM

    The fun is always in the pursuit, the thrill of the hunt!!

    • Mel
      August 17, 2012 at 7:57 PM

      You hit it on the head Jan. He loves the pursuit.

  6. August 17, 2012 at 12:50 PM

    What dog doesn’t love a good stick? Jasper looks like he’s ready for some real search and rescue! It’s great to see him having so much fun.

  7. August 17, 2012 at 2:59 PM

    I used to have a dog like that, we both would get a kick who would find the stick first! Jasper is so cute and looks like he’s having a great time. 🙂

    • Mel
      August 17, 2012 at 7:56 PM

      Wasn’t it so much fun?
      He loves the hunt. He will search forever. I have to call him several times to get him to come when he is searching for his stick. Silly dog.

  8. August 17, 2012 at 5:49 PM

    Poor baby. Did he ever find it?

    • Mel
      August 17, 2012 at 7:55 PM

      LOL! Did I mention he is relentless? He did find it. And then I accidently threw it over the fence. I have terrible aim. My family can vouch for it. 🙂

  9. August 21, 2012 at 8:05 PM

    Where in the world is Jasper Sandiego? I loved the moment near the end where you could barely see his face peeking out through the weeds.

    My husband gets frustrated when Honey takes off after her ball so quickly she can’t see where he threw it. But I have fun seeing her sniff it out. She’s gotten very good at finding it by scent.

    Sometimes we’ll play hot and cold. I make encouraging noises when she gets near and am more quiet when she gets farther away. It’s fun to see how we can work together.

    Do you think Jasper would enjoy working with you to find the stick? Or is this is own private joy?

    • Mel
      August 21, 2012 at 9:58 PM

      LOL! Where indeed?

      I am actually quite good at working with Jasper on his search – when I can find it. I have to admit that when the weeds are this thick I am less successful than him. (He is good at sniffing it out too!) Whether it’s a ball or a stick, I will give him the cue word “yes” to help him find it. He’s gotten quite good at figuring it out too. I love it when he does find it using my commands. Don’t you?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

