Home > Animal Rescue, Lady, Little Lady Lost, Missing Pets, Pet Safety > Lost Dog “Experts”, Lay Off Will Ya?

Lost Dog “Experts”, Lay Off Will Ya?


My lost dog. Lady.

Recently, a rescue group I know, one that was involved in the search for Lady(not the one I volunteer for), came under attack via social media. I won’t go into all of the details of the reason behind the attack, because that is not the point of this post nor am I looking to judge the rescue or the other person involved. But, I do feel the need to address the people who have injected themselves into this controversy.

Because I am the owner of a former missing dog, and the recipient of this rescue’s kindness, it saddened me to see a flurry of harsh words thrown back and forth by people who supported the rescue and those who did not. But, what made me most angry were the harsh words and condemnation and judgement hurled at a woman whose dog had gotten lost.

I could say that this was a one time event. A situation where strong feelings on both sides just got out of hand and eventually cooler heads would prevail, but I have seen these types of words hurled at other owners on missing dog websites elsewhere, so I know that saying this was a one-time event would not be the truth.

I often see comments like “Why didn’t you do this?” and “Why didn’t you do that?” Or ones like “You must not have cared for your dog since you didn’t do this or that.” Or “So, how DID your dog get lost? Hmmm???” (That one hurled at me when Lady went missing.) My favorite one from this latest incident was the one that inferred the owner deserved to lose her dog because it had gotten loose while out on a tie out.

Wow. I never knew there were so many lost dog experts living among us.

I wonder how many people really knew, before they followed the Little Lady Lost saga, what to do if their dog went missing. I know I didn’t.

Honestly, looking back now, I can’t even remember if I called Lady’s rescue first or her former foster mom. I was in such a complete state of panic. I was shaking. I was frantic and scared and out of my head with fear for Lady’s life. She had gotten away in the busiest and most dangerous part of town. The last thing I could do was think rationally about what to do next. All I seemed capable of doing at the time was roaming the area over and over again, searching for her, calling out her name.

If not for amazing and wonderful people at Minnesota Sheltie Rescue, a group very experienced with finding lost dogs, I would not have known what to do.

I would not have thought to create flyers with Lady’s pictures on them. Or to include a warning to not approach her but to call me instead.

I would never have known about FindToto.com or the huge advantage it afforded me in getting the word out to so many people in my town so quickly.

I would not have even known about traps or how to set them or how to bait them or to put an article of clothing in it so she would be drawn to my smell.

I never would have known the importance of going door-to-door or speaking to people in person so they would want to help me find my missing girl.

If I had not been Lady’s foster first, I would not have even thought to call the rescue first.

I certainly never would have known the importance of calling all the shelters and the police and local businesses to ask them to keep an eye out for Lady.

I never would have thought, or even had the time, to create signs or to post them in strategic intersections so people could see them.

I wouldn’t have known any of these things if not for Minnesota Sheltie Rescue. Not a one. Would you?

It’s so easy to assume that everyone knows what to do because we do. It’s so easy to assume that someone is stupid or doesn’t care for their missing pet because they didn’t do all the right things. It so easy to judge isn’t it?

Well I say I was lucky. I had people around me who knew all that I did not. They did things for me that I could not. I was stupid and ignorant and clueless. I was also scared and worried and not thinking straight.

So I would just like to ask all you lost dog “experts”, not the ones who are experienced in finding lost dogs, but the ones who sit in judgement of those with missing pets… LAY OFF. Why don’t you focus on helping instead of criticizing? Why don’t you educate instead of standing by and judging what others did or did not do? Why don’t you have compassion and kindness and heart?

Yes. I am lucky that Lady came home, and I thank my lucky stars she did, but not everyone is so lucky to have an organization, or the people I had behind me, to help. Let’s remember that before we pass judgement, shall we?

In the meantime, I share a few things that was shared by Lost Dogs-MN. Maybe you could pass them on and help others too.

  1. Lorie Huston, DVM
    May 14, 2012 at 11:13 PM

    These are great tips, Mel. Even as a veterinarian, many of the tips you listed here were unknown to me, even though they make perfect sense. Now I have a better sense what to tell people with lost dogs when they ask me (or my staff) what to do. Thank you.

    • Mel
      May 14, 2012 at 11:25 PM

      Thanks Dr. Lorie. I am more than happy to share and I am so glad you found them helpful. I know I try to share them when I can because so many people don’t know what to do when they have a missing pet.

  2. May 15, 2012 at 12:05 AM

    Wonderful post! I’ve been following since I first saw that Lady was missing and I’m so happy that you had a happy ending. I write the newsletter for a local dog club and I was wondering if I could use your tips above in an article? There are some really great tips, and I’ll admit I didn’t know some of them, but now I will definitely put a plan in place!

    I applaud both you and Minnesota Sheltie Rescue (and all the others who cross-posted on FB) for putting in so much time and effort to find Lady. We could all be so lucky to have people in our lives who would go the extra mile to support a stranger and her companion.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 12:20 AM

      Thank you Robin. Yes. I am very, very lucky in so many ways. Please DO share the tips. The more people know the more it helps them and their missing pets. Thank you for wanting to share! Lady thanks you too! 🙂

  3. May 15, 2012 at 4:31 AM

    Excellent post with fantastic info! I remind myself frequently of something my grandma told me: if you don’t have something good to say, keep your mouth shut. Sometimes I wish more people knew my grandma 😉

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 6:45 AM

      LOL! I wish I knew your grandma! She must have been a wonderful Lady Sue. So very glad you liked the info too. I guess going through all the stuff I did with Lady I forgot to share some of that good info. Glad I am sharing it now.

  4. May 15, 2012 at 5:02 AM

    Great tips. I hope I never have to use them myself but we just never know, do we?

    I appreciate your eloquent comments about everyone becoming a lost dog expert. We turn so quickly to judging which never helps anyone.

    I’ve only experienced the horror of having a dog slipping away but remaining in sight. I can’t imagine how devastating it is to know your dog is alone out there and doesn’t have the ability to put herself in place of being found.

    The life lesson I’m working to remember is that we all makes mistakes. But most of us rarely pay the price for them. Some people ride with their dogs on their laps and the window open and never get in an accident. For another person, that decision ends in tragedy.

    Its the same with missing a stop sign or drinking a little too much before driving home. Many people have done it. But some people pay the ultimate price while everyone else is just lucky. It seems like a bad idea to rush to judgment when we could find ourselves in the same position someday needing support instead of criticism.

    And, of course, sometimes stuff just happens.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 6:43 AM

      Pamela – As always, you speak words of wisdom. You are right. Many of us do make mistakes, and fortunately for many of us, that mistake never ends in tragedy. But, as you said, life happens. We can never say “That won’t be me.” because we never know. Thank you for weighing in. I am so very glad you did.

  5. May 15, 2012 at 7:04 AM

    Great tips! And like you it always makes me sad that sometimes people assume dogs have been dumped rather than lost.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 9:12 PM

      Me too Beth. I know I used to thin that before I lost Lady. Now I look at every stray dog as a lost dog and wonder where their owner is and if they are missing them. Amazing how a life changing experience can change your perspective isn’t it?

  6. Julie deRosier-Paul
    May 15, 2012 at 7:44 AM

    Great blog again Mel. Thank you!

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 9:11 PM

      Thanks Julie! Thanks for all your help too!

  7. Kristine
    May 15, 2012 at 7:57 AM

    Terrific and powerful post. It is so easy to judge others instead of pitching in and helping out. The thing about a tragedy like this is, it can happen to anyone, no matter how careful you are or how many things you do right. It happened to a trainer friend of mine who is probably one of the most dog experienced people I know. Sometimes dogs run away. It’s awful when it happens but it does. Judgment doesn’t change the fact that there is a dog out there alone who needs help.

    Thank you for sharing your experiences here. I am sure the things you learned with Lady will help many others in the future. And I’ve said it before but it’s worth saying again, I am so glad Lady’s story had a happy ending.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 9:10 PM

      I hope your trainer friend found her dog again Kristine. It’s an awful feeling to lose a dog. I hope the tips do help someone else. So many people don’t know what to do when a dog disappears. I’m so very glad Lady had a happy ending too. She is such a wonderful girl. 🙂

  8. May 15, 2012 at 8:23 AM

    It never fails to amaze me how judgmental and sanctimonious people can be. What do these people think when CHILDREN go missing??? I’m with Sue’s Granny. Help, don’t hinder, don’t criticize. And good for you, Mel, for sticking up for your friends. It’s so YOU.

  9. May 15, 2012 at 8:32 AM

    Love it, Mel. I’m always curious to know how critics think they are being helpful. As far as I can tell, sitting on their keesters and Monday morning quarterbacking does little to that end. Maybe I’m missing something but I always believe that anything less than offering helpful suggestions is useless.

    I need to write a piece on lost dogs for our rescue site and I’ll be sure to include the tips you share here. Because of your voice, and the voice of those you learned from, the lessons will be paid forward. Thank you for that.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 9:08 PM

      I am so glad that you will be able to use the tips for your very own rescue Kim. I have no doubt they will help someone someday and they will be so grateful you shared them. How’s Mama dog doing? To be honest, I adore her. The puppies are adorable (of course!), but she is something special.

      • May 15, 2012 at 9:38 PM

        Bristol is doing well. She’s staying with our Executive Director now while her last pup remains in his original foster home. (Our foster mom has 8 dogs of her own. It breaks her heart to let Bristol go but she simply couldn’t manage all forever.) I’ll keep you posted on this sweet momma. She’s such a great dog. She was spooning under the sheets with her foster their last two nights together. She’s going to make a great pet.

      • Mel
        May 15, 2012 at 10:19 PM

        I imagine that she will have a hard time saying goodbye when Bristol finds her forever home. She is truly a dog that anyone would be lucky to have in their lives. I have so fallen in love with her gentle spirit.

  10. May 15, 2012 at 9:04 AM

    Hi Y’all,

    Wow, lots of great info me and my Human didn’t know!

    Sometimes I guess humans forget the manners their grandmothers taught them.

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 9:03 PM

      LOL! Hawk – I smiled a big smile when I read your comment. You have such a wonderful way of expressing yourself. I think I love you Hawk. 🙂

  11. Jan
    May 15, 2012 at 9:46 AM

    I think there are people who get the only joy in their lives by judging other people and holding themselves in the best possible light. Most people who have ever had a dog has had at least a momentary fear that the dog was lost.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 9:02 PM

      If they haven’t at least had that thought Jan, they should. It can happen to anyone at any time. Thank you for coming on over.

  12. wantmorepuppies
    May 15, 2012 at 10:20 AM

    Really great tips, Mel. Those type of people remind me of Captain Hindsight on South Park. The least useful superpower ever!

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 9:00 PM

      I am so loving the idea that there is a Captain Hindsight. LOL! Least powerful superpower. So true!

  13. May 15, 2012 at 10:55 AM

    Losing Lady was such a gut-wrenching experience for you and for everyone that followed the saga. Thankfully, Lady’s story has a happy ending and now you’re able to share what you learned with other people who may find themselves in the same situation. And it could happen to any of us – a broken leash or collar or a moment of distraction is all it takes! I agree with your assessment of the Monday morning quarterbacks. People who have lost pets are already going over the million things they wish they’d done differently … thinking you’re being helpful by adding to that list is just crazy.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 8:59 PM

      Thank you Amy. Yes. I’d say gut-wrenching sums it up perfectly. I don’t think anyone needs to hear what they did wrong in the midst of blaming themselves for the reason for why their dog went missing. I know I didn’t.

  14. Debby
    May 15, 2012 at 12:43 PM

    Great post! If I lost Kirby I would be in such a panic. I am so very careful but life happens and I would want all the help I could get. Accusations and blame wouldn’t at all!

    I followed along when you lost Lady so Kirby now wears a name tag with my number, a blanketID tag and is microchipped. I even hook his leash to his harness before unhooking him from his carseat and vice versa. It’s scary for me when he does rally because he isn’t allowed to wear a collar when competing.

    your info is great but I’d like to add that I purchased the blanketID tag because if I lose him they contact every vet, shelter and rescue in the area he was last seen and I have a prepared lost poster with his picture and info ready to print out.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 8:55 PM

      Oh Debby! Thank you for sharing. I am so glad Kirby has all that he needs to be found if he were ever lost. I also have done the hooking of the leash to Lady’s harness before releasing her. I never want to lose her again, so one of the first things I did was buy her a new collar that she can’t get out of if she is ever frightened again. I feel so much better knowing all her contact info is her tag too.

      I am so going to check into that Blanket ID. I’ve never heard of it before. I see I have so much more to learn!

  15. May 15, 2012 at 4:49 PM

    Very well said! Great tips you have shared : )

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 8:50 PM

      Thanks Cindi. I hope they will help another person some day (although, I really wish they didn’t have to be shared).

  16. May 15, 2012 at 5:52 PM

    It amazes me how many people think something will never happen to them and because they feel that way they think they are a better pet owner. My friend’s dog got attacked by another dog while they were out walking and when she posted it on an email group a nationally known trainer felt the need to lambaste her because it happened. I couldn’t believe it and I lost all respect for that person.

    Those tips are great! I know when my 3 dogs got lost I drove around for about 15 minutes before hoofing it around my town and it’s a good thing I did because I came across someone who had seen them 3 miles away. They had followed the railroad tracks up to the next town(wish I had known about following the tracks then).

    One thing I worry about is when I see someone saying their dog was stolen from there yard. I worry that because they assume that they are losing precious time looking for their dog that probably got out of its yard.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 8:49 PM

      It amazes me too Dawn. Until you have personally lost a pet, I don’t think you can really appreciate the awful experience it can be. Support is so key in succeeding, but knowing what to do is just as important. I am so very glad you found your lost dogs. Thank God you hoofed it.

      I also didn’t know about the whole railroad tracks thing until Lady was lost. She was also seen by the railroad tracks many times. It terrified me to be honest. Since then I have heard of many dogs being found or seen near railroad tracks. I think it’s one of the tips that has stuck with me the most. I never drive by them without looking to see if there is a lost dog near them.

      Sadly, dogs an be stolen and have been stolen. I recently read a story that some people are stealing them and selling them on eBay to make a buck. This came from a police officer, so I know there must be some knowledge or experience behind it. I think a dog can escape from a yard, and many do, but stolen dogs seem to be on the rise. You just never know. 😦

  17. May 15, 2012 at 7:40 PM

    Thank you Mel for this post. Judging how or why a dog got lost does absolutely nothing to get the dog home safely; and often discourages the owner before they begin.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 8:42 PM

      Thank you Kathy. I completely agree. Let’s not judge but help. Losing a beloved pet can be such an emotionally and physically exhausting experience. Knowing that there are people out there to help and support you in your search can make all the difference. I know that from personal experience. Thank you for helping the people of Wisconsin find their lost pets.

  18. May 15, 2012 at 8:14 PM

    WOW…that was a great great article. Thank you!
    This is Tammy from Lost Dogs- MN. Thank you so much for helping us get the word out there. It is a terrifying time, but sites like Lost Dogs- MN, are here to help you! We will get you through it, and we will share your lost dog info with thousands of our fans. We are a tight knit community, and we tend to band together to help out whenever we can. Lady was a story we all followed praying for the happy ending she so deserved!
    All of you out there, that haven’t lost your pet, you can help others like Lady, please “like” my page, and look for dogs missing in your area when you are out and about, the more eyes we have out there, the faster we can reunite these lost dogs and get them home to the families that love and miss them!
    We also offer educational tips on our page, some wonderful resources you can find are: a lost dog action plan, numbers to all the rescues/pounds/shelters in the state of MN, a link to help you create fliers so you don’t have to think about it, there is an album full of these tips listed above, and a community that is out there, just waiting to help you get your dog back! We have two sister sites called Lost Dogs of Wisc, and Lost Dogs of Illinois. We all have the same great tips. We are here to help you.
    Thank you to all of you! Without you, we wouldn’t be helping so many of these families that need our help.
    facebook.com/LDoMN

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 8:39 PM

      Thank you Tammy! I had always wanted someplace where people could post their dog’s picture and get help. The work that Lost DOgs-MN does is so key to helping so many people find their lost pets. All of the tips you have posted were all taught to me by my rescue, Minnesota Sheltie Rescue, but now others have those same tips and for that I am grateful.

      Keep up the good work!

  19. May 15, 2012 at 9:21 PM

    As always Mel, you did a wonderful job with this post!
    You know, when Lady was missing from you, it made me think about what I would do if one of my dogs were lost. To be honest I would be in a complete state of panic and I am sure I wouldn’t know where to start. You have done an excellent job educating people on a very important topic. Every dog has the potential to go missing, knowing what to do when this happens can make all the difference in the world.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 9:44 PM

      Thank you so much Jen. I hope that this post and the tips will help others when and if they need it. I hope to see more Lost Dogs FB pages in other states soon. It can make all the difference in getting out the word and educating people on what to do.

  20. May 15, 2012 at 9:23 PM

    Mel – thanks for posting your thoughts and feelings. I agree that too many negative opinions are associated with a social media posting of a lost dog. I was involved in a lost rescue dog search earlier this year with RAGOM. I didn’t know the dog nor the owners, but the situation touched me in a way that I will never forget. Kekoa’s owners reached out to RAGOM because they loved him so much and didn’t know how to cope with his separation anxiety that was amplified by the loss of his best friend earlier in the year. The outcome was tragic, but countless people used many strategies to find Kekoa. It was amazing to observe the dedication and the effort. I agree it is important to have a plan and utilize all available resources. I encourage all to focus on facts during those types of situations and control emotions.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 9:42 PM

      Oh Beth. I remember Kekoa’s story. I was so heartbroken when he was not found safe and sound, like Lady. It broke my heart.
      Thank you for being involved in searching for him. It’s people like you that lost dog owners like me are so grateful for. I could not agree with you more about the dedication and effort. Kekoa may not have had the happy ending we had all prayed for, but he did bring people together and show us that we are all better when we help than when we criticize. Thank you so much for stopping by.

  21. toshea
    May 15, 2012 at 10:04 PM

    You are soooo Right Mel…I remember when Lady was lost….I felt so bad for you and scared for lady at the same time.
    Why people would badmouth a wonderful rescue group is beyond me.
    If my Dog (Penny) ever get lost, I would want a rescue group just like Minnesota Sheltie Rescue to help me too.

    • Mel
      May 15, 2012 at 10:08 PM

      Thank you so much. I hope you never have to experience losing Penny, but if ever she were lost I would hope a wonderful group like MNSR would be there to help you.

      • toshea
        May 15, 2012 at 10:11 PM

        Thank You Mel….I will Tell Penny You said that…She enjoys when I read your blog to her….LOL

      • Mel
        May 15, 2012 at 10:18 PM

        LOL! Thank you for the wonderful image of Penny listening to you read my blog. 🙂

  22. Hal
    May 16, 2012 at 3:48 AM

    We also need to help change the attitudes of some of those working at the Shelters and Impounds — many times they have the attitude that everyone should just KNOW what to do when their pet is Lost.. I have actually overhead this stated at a very busy Impound in the suburbs… the general feeling there was ‘if the owner didn’t show up in a day or 2 after the dog or cat was impounded then they really must not care about their pet!’ They think everyone should automatically know what to do and where to check when they lost their pet 😦

    • Mel
      May 16, 2012 at 6:50 AM

      Completely agree Hal. Shelters need to understand that people don’t know what to do. If they get the wrong advice heir pet could be lost longer or staying in a shelter longer. I imagine a lot of people have never found their pets because they didn’t know to call a shelter or rescue.

  23. Blueberry's human
    May 16, 2012 at 1:26 PM

    I have a pretty good idea of what to do if I ever lose my dog because I used to volunteer at an animal shelter. One year, my house was broken into while I was at work and the burglars cut off the power (it was in the middle of summer and extremely hot) and then left my house with the front door wide open. One of my dogs took off, one ran into my fenced backyard (I have a dog door to the backyard) and used the baby pool to keep cool. When I got home I couldn’t believe it. Not a single neighbor thought it was odd that my front door was open all day. Once I had the electricity back on, I logged onto my computer and since I knew that the burglars had been at my house earlier in the day (apparently one neighbor saw my dogs running around in the neighborhood but did nothing about it even though they knew I never let them loose like that) so I figured that was probably enough time for someone to have picked up my missing dog. Thankfully, someone had used the pets 911 website and left a vague description that sort of sounded like him and when I called – it was indeed my lost dog! The people that picked him up didn’t even think to take him to a vet or the animal shelter to scan him for a chip (he wasn’t wearing his collar at the time). So if I hadn’t known to look on line for a listing of “found” dogs, I probably would not have recovered him as quickly as I did. He was only about a mile and a half from my house.

    So really, the thing here is most people don’t know what to do when they FIND a lost dog, let alone what to do when they LOSE one. These are helpful hints – hopefully these tips you shared will help educate everyone.

    • May 16, 2012 at 1:34 PM

      Our Page, ahs lots of tips on what to do if you FIND a dog as well, and about half of our postings are dogs someone has found. So its another great resource to help people to figure out what to do 🙂
      We are also trying to partner with HS and shelters/Rescues to get them to not only view our page, but to let us post on their pages too. Its an ongoing thing, but hope to get that buttoned up soon!

  24. Allyson
    May 18, 2012 at 10:00 AM

    Ditto to many of the comments already made. I have shared this post in many places b/c I thought the information/tips were so helpful. It also got me thinking we should take advantage of our smart phone technology… Create a contact for your pet, then have all the essential data (chip#, license#, dob, vet info, etc), along w/ a good current picture. Also I would make sure each family member has that info in their smart phones too. Hopefully none of us will have to use it, but is sure would make it a lot easier to share information if it’s in one place.

  25. May 20, 2012 at 12:17 PM

    We can all learn from this post. Dogs get lost for many reasons. Get your dog (or cat) microchipped. Make sure that when a vet or shelter scans the dog, they move the scanner around the dog in case it has dislodged. Keep your information current. If you move, etc., notify the company.

    My dog is microchipped. The Humane Society of NY does it before a dog is adopted. I periodically have his chipped checked and what the vet found was that the chip moved all the way down his side,

    • Max's dad
      May 20, 2012 at 7:13 PM

      I’d add “don’t take no for an answer” if you’re dealing with a governmental agency about your lost dog. Around a dozen years ago a gate was left open and my dog wandered away. He had only gone three blocks before he was taken in by a family, but as they were about to go to church and a Mother’s Day lunch, they called my suburb’s animal control– the police department. When I found he was missing I did a quick drive through the area, and when I didn’t find him, I called the police. “Nope, no reports of a found dog,” I was told. I called again later in the afternoon, again in the evening, and before going to work in the morning, and was told the same thing each time. When I got home from work, there was a call on my answering machine– the city employee in charge of the holding facility had seen the posters I’d put up. He asked why I hadn’t called about my missing dog, and I told him that I had–four times! He sighed, and said “Some of them think they’ve got more important things to do, I guess.” My dog was microchipped, but the city didn’t have a reader. He wasn’t wearing his collar as we were going through obedience classes at the time, and I got tired of swapping his nylon collar with the prong collar for training. (Note, I’ve been educated against prong collars since.)

      So I recommend going to the local facility and checking yourself, in case the people in charge don’t know or don’t care that they might have your dog. Drop off a flyer as well, as they might think your dog is a different breed. (The city guy didn’t know my dog was a collie as he was a tri and therefor mostly black, and not “Lassie” colored.)

      • Mel
        May 20, 2012 at 9:49 PM

        Wow! Really great advice Max’s Dad. I am so glad you got him back. That is so frightening to think you may never have found him if not for your posters. Good lord!

  26. May 27, 2012 at 7:24 PM

    As everyone else is saying, this is excellent. Some dogs will stand near you when not restrained, but… a neighbor dog suddenly started jumping out of his fenced yard — the snowbank was high enough! Others are very quick escape artists, gosh – it just takes a second. Our house was broken into also – I came home to find the BACK door standing open! Did I forget to lock it? Did I turn the key the wrong way? Things happen! What was astonishing is that both cats were lying by the back door when I got home!! They are totally indoor cats and one particularly has zipped out and kept going.

    Just this morning, my husband returned from Starbucks to find a Samoyed in our back yard, who greeted my husband and headed to our back door, but then took off. No collar. I circled the block and found him lying in the dirt next to the neighbor’s house and brought him to our porch. First I tried looking up that pet amber alert, but it’s $99 for lost pets. I called St Paul impound – it’s a Sunday so vets are closed. The guy was here in 15 minutes, before I could register with anything else I found on the web. Found the chip right away! And he said “come on Boy, we’re going home.” I love Saint Paul!

  1. May 15, 2012 at 6:45 AM
  2. May 16, 2012 at 6:20 AM
  3. June 25, 2012 at 11:53 PM
  4. August 7, 2012 at 4:27 PM

Leave a Reply

