Home > Animal Rescue, Dog Breed Information, Pet Adoption, Photos > Give it your best shot. What breed mix is Dozer?

Give it your best shot. What breed mix is Dozer?


Dozer

After a week of discussing a really serious topic (puppy mills), I thought it might be nice to do a more light-hearted post and ask for a little audience participation. I welcome your input on this one!

About a year ago, my brother adopted a dog from a pitbull rescue group here in Minnesota. Dozer isn’t actually a pitbull (as far as we can tell), but he does have an interesting story. The woman who fostered him had rescued him from a shelter in the south after the shelter manager begged her to take him. It seems that Dozer had been scheduled to put to sleep (i.e., he had run out of time) several times, but the shelter manager kept saving him because he had become really taken with him. He knew that it was only a matter of time before he would have to put him to sleep, so he begged Dozer’s foster mom to please take him, and even though she was there to rescue pitbulls, she did.

Dozer had spent some time with her, but still couldn’t seem to find that perfect family. In fact, she was thinking the cause was lost and she should just adopt him herself, when my brother and sister-in-law came across his picture on Pet Finder. It was love at first sight. Dozer had some behavioral issues to resolve, but a year later I can honestly say he is an awesome dog. My brother and sister-in-law have been amazing pet parents. They took him to basic training and even had him do a little agility (which he loved). It’s been wonderful to see his transformation under their loving care. There’s only one problem. NO ONE can seem to guess what he is - Vizsla? Rhodesian Rideback? Smooth Collie-mix? Hound-mix?

Here’s where you come in. I need your help. I need you dog aficionados to tell me what you think Dozer is mixed with. So, what’s your guess?

Additional details – Dozer is:
– Wicked smart. He can learn a new trick in seconds.
– Prey driven. Don’t ever think of getting between him and a squirrel!
– Tall. Dozer is about the same height as a Greyhound
– Long legged. In fact, he’s all legs.
– Big ears. I love, love, love his ears!







Welcome to the Saturday Pet Blogger Blog Hop. I encourage you to check out some of the other awesome pet bloggers out there. Much thanks to our most generous and interesting hosts, Life With Dogs, Two Little Cavaliers, and Confessions of the Plume!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

  1. March 16, 2012 at 11:46 PM | #1

    Looks like a mix of pitbull and setter.
    Glad he not a mix of English Bulldog & Shih-tzu You can hazard a guess what that would be called.

    I’ve seen that mix.Ugly as a mud fence,but 1 hell of a good dog

  2. March 17, 2012 at 1:25 AM | #2

    He’s one big mix of cuteness, that’s for sure!! Happy St. Patty’s Day!

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 7:54 AM | #3

      LOL! Yes he is! Happy St. Paddy’s Day to you too Basset Momma!

  3. March 17, 2012 at 1:36 AM | #4

    He looks like he has some vizsla in him. Not sure what else. He sure is cute, no matter what he is!

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 7:54 AM | #5

      Thanks Susan. His hunting instinct and ability to concentrate on a bunny or squirrel or bird makes me think Vizsla too. Cute he definitely is!

  4. March 17, 2012 at 1:56 AM | #6

    I’m guessing Chow and maybe Shiba Inu? the curly tail I was originally thinking Akita, but Dozer is smaller than an Akita, so Shiba Inu was my next logical guess. He’s adorable, whatever he is and he certainly looks very happy in his loving environment. Good luck finding out what he is, or not worrying anymore and loving him in spite of his questionable heritage.

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 7:53 AM | #7

      I think it would be funny if he is part Chow only because my brother’s last dog, Remy, was a Chow-Lab mix. He is a lucky dog and much loved, especially those ears!

  5. March 17, 2012 at 5:06 AM | #8

    Whenever someone asks me what kind of dog my girl Jazzie is,,,I tell them she’s a pretty dog and a good dog, I think that’s the kind of dog Dozer is too,,,,a handsome boy & a good boy.

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 7:52 AM | #9

      He is definitely that Jack!

  6. Martie
    March 17, 2012 at 6:35 AM | #10

    I was wondering what his energy level is. He reminds me of my (recently deceased) husky-mix around the eyes (the expression), curled tail, and ears…although Dozer’s are not erect but they’re the same shape, and when my husky was a pup her ears were down and bent and gradually became erect; looks like Dozer’s just never fully became erect, probably some other floppy-eared breed influence there. Also the long legs. Also, how vocal is he? How communicative? Maybe a DNA test?

    I just love Dozer’s look and would have adopted him in a second if he had been a female (sorry but I’m just one of those people who prefer girl dogs :/

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 7:51 AM | #11

      Thanks for your guess Martie. He actually is a pretty high energy dog. Definitely a hunter too. I hadn’t thought of Husky, but I am open to almost any breed. I was kind of hoping someone would see a resemblance with their own dog and be able to provide some ideas. I think your guess is a good one since you do see similarities with your Husky-mix (I am so sorry for your loss.)

      Dozer is somewhat vocal, but not as much as a Husky (at least as far as I have seen). I think my brother is tentative on the DNA thing just because they haven’t been very good so far. But, maybe he will reconsider if he can find a good one.

      Don’t be sorry for preferring a female! We all have our preferences. :)

  7. Kellie
    March 17, 2012 at 7:18 AM | #12

    I have to guess Basenji, Yellow Lab mix and something …He does look like our Abby who is a Basenji lab mix, but Dozer is bigger. The face and tail are the same.

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 7:47 AM | #13

      Ha! Maybe so Kellie! They do look a lot alike.

  8. March 17, 2012 at 7:52 AM | #14

    Oh that’s a tough one! My first thought was a bit of Chow, but I have no idea what else!

  9. Tammy
    March 17, 2012 at 8:42 AM | #15

    No clue!! I’d suggest a DNA test. I did it with my dog and loved learning about what type of a ‘mix’ she was! Some of her behaviors made so much more sense after knowing her breeds!

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 2:07 PM | #16

      I think that’s the best part of DNA tests – making sense of some of the common behaviors seen in a certain breed. It’s fun to guess and then find out.

  10. Tammy
    March 17, 2012 at 8:46 AM | #17

    Oh, I used the Wisdom Panel DNATest. I had a little extra blood drawn at her yearly exam and sent it off. Great report back. Would totally recommend that type.

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 2:06 PM | #18

      Rammy – Thank you! I will pass this on to my brother. It’s good to know that there are some good tests out there.

  11. Amanda
    March 17, 2012 at 9:30 AM | #19

    I would actually say a Doberman mix. My brothers dog looks eerily similar, except all black ( and in personality) the pronounced breast bone, even the curled tail! He is a Doberman-black lab mix, and people guess ridgeback, visla, all the time.

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 2:05 PM | #20

      Funny Amanda. My last dog was part Doberman (I’m fairly certain) and they both have very similar body shapes. I told my brother about your guess because your brother’s dog looks so similar and because you get people guessing the same things. I would not doubt he is part Doberman.

  12. Jan
    March 17, 2012 at 10:09 AM | #21

    I see a lot of Greyhound mixed with sturdier builds.

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 2:03 PM | #22

      Jan – Greyhound is definitely something we have considered. I suspect Vizsla too just because he does the prairie dog thing that our neighbor, Rainy (also a Vizsla) does all of the time.

  13. March 17, 2012 at 10:35 AM | #23

    Absolutely adorable. I just want to hug him. My guess is a Chesapeake Bay Retriever, Vizla. The curly tail says he might have Shiba Inu in him. Just for fun I had my dog’s DNA done.

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 2:02 PM | #24

      Interesting! Someone else mentioned Shiba Inu too. There might be something to it.

  14. March 17, 2012 at 10:46 AM | #25

    I confess, I have no clue what mix he is. But I was intrigued by that Bama bandanna!

  15. March 17, 2012 at 1:25 PM | #27

    Dozer is not only adorable, he is super cute! I agree – his ears are awesome!!

    I love guess the breed games! Dozer is clearly a mix of many, many things. In my opinion, this makes him the best kind of dog. :-) I may be way off base but I see a little shepherd in him. He has a similar expression to my brother-in-law’s dog, who I think is a Ridgeback/shepherd/Great Dane mix with a few other things mixed in for fun. Someone above mentioned Basenji and that doesn’t seem off either.

    I’m going to say lab/shepherd/ridgeback/greyhound mix. Why not? ;-)

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 2:01 PM | #28

      Why not indeed? :)
      My friend Kellie is the one who guessed Basenji mix. I had sent a picture of her newly adopted Abby who is a Basenji-Lab mix and my brother could not get over te resemblance. Who knows? Ridgeback/shepherd/Great Dane mix may be correct!

  16. March 17, 2012 at 6:46 PM | #29

    Hey Dozer, Jet here. Moving story, and thanks to your human and the pitbull human for saving you. Similar situation to my story… I was 4 days from the unmentionable when Golden Rescue South Florida scooped me up because human liked my face. Mom was curious as to why a black dog would be on a golden rescue site. One click and she was cooked. I needed to learn some stuff, too.

    They said I was a flat coat retriever, but… hmmm… not so much. After 9 months, Mom sort of figured out I was mostly a flat coat/border collie mix??? If we ever get lots of extra biscuit $, she may do a DNA test for curiosity. Also, she learned that the heartworm medicine she gave my golden sister, Koko (and now JJ) can kill collie breeds. YIKES… so, from that point of view, it was kind of important to know. Since goldens and collies can take the alternative, we all switched. phew.

    Ok, now for you. I see the basenji part in the tale especially. (Mom had a basenji neighbor, Arnold for 14 years until a few years ago.) I also see the possibility of a collie part… how fun to wonder.

    • Mel
      March 17, 2012 at 7:27 PM | #30

      Wow Jet! You are one lucky dog! You sounded so nice I had to pop over to see you. You are gorgeous! I see both possibilities!

      • March 17, 2012 at 8:04 PM | #31

        Hey it’s Jet here. Hi Miss Mel (are you a Miss or Mr.?, I’m nothing if not polite!)

        Well thank you so much. I do fancy myself as a handsome dude… with humility of course. Maybe we can visit each other again… at the moment, I’m still happily chewing my after dinner, after evening business walk, marrow bone!

  17. ms. llewellyn hinshaw
    March 18, 2012 at 11:41 AM | #32

    i’m playing it safe “shelter dog” the only way to know for sure is by dna testing

  18. Adriane Adams
    March 18, 2012 at 12:18 PM | #33

    He is adorable first of all! I was thinking a viszla/ibizan hound mix. But who knows it doesn’t matter mutts are the best!

  19. Mary
    March 18, 2012 at 1:28 PM | #34

    I think there is some basenji too. I had a basenji/boxer mix and I see a similarity, but I’m not thinking boxer here. My basenji mix could bark but wasn’t a big barker. It fits the “bahavioral issues” that needed to be resolved and the prey drive too (basenjis are hunting dogs from Africa). Many dog IQ tests put basenjis near the bottom of the list, but I have poodles and an Aussie now and my basenji mix and my purebred basenji were just as smart. They simply have a more independent attitude about how they relate to humans, but the capacity to be very loving is there.

  20. Elizabeth
    March 18, 2012 at 2:06 PM | #35

    Basendane or Grasenji? :) He has a gorgeous face and coat! Lucky all around!

  21. Tuney & Fletch’s Mom
    March 19, 2012 at 10:33 AM | #36

    He has the coat of a Ridgeback but I am no pro. He sure has a terrific smile!!

  22. SARA
    March 19, 2012 at 2:02 PM | #37

    He’s definitely part pitt for sure. He seems also part shepherd.

    • Mel
      March 20, 2012 at 6:07 AM | #38

      Sara – Hmmmm!!!! Now I am going to have to have my brother get his DNA done!

  23. sarah
    March 19, 2012 at 2:04 PM | #39

    I think shiba inu, vizla, and maybe deer hound..

  24. traceyc
    March 19, 2012 at 2:06 PM | #40

    I’m going with Rhodesion and Golden Retriever. Beautiful dog! :)

    • Mel
      March 20, 2012 at 6:06 AM | #41

      I like it! Thanks for guessing Tracey!

  25. Caroline Lees
    March 19, 2012 at 2:51 PM | #42

    Just like my rescue dog…we call him the good dog mix!!1

  26. March 26, 2012 at 2:10 PM | #45

    whatever kind of pup he is, he sure is gorgeous!

    • Mel
      March 27, 2012 at 6:04 AM | #46

      Thanks Lauren! I am hoping my brother does a DNA test on him. I’m dying to know. BTW – He really is gorgeous and adorable in person too. :)

  27. angelasoelzerragosa
    June 3, 2012 at 8:15 AM | #47

    I think I have a good idea… He looks part Basenji to me and possibly part Russell Terrier. Our dog Duke looks almost like Dozier’s twin and that’s what we have come up with for his breed. A guy at the dog park thought our dog Duke was full blooded Basenji but after doing a lot of careful research we found that to be untrue and we knew he was mixed.

    • Mel
      June 3, 2012 at 11:25 PM | #48

      Funny enough Angela I have a friend who has a Lab/Basenji mix and her ears and face are similar to Dozer’s. BUt she is a lot smaller than him. Dozer stands at about Greyhound height with really long legs. If your Duke looks like Dozer then he must be adorable!

  28. angelasoelzerragosa
    June 3, 2012 at 8:22 AM | #49

    I know it’s been a while since you posted this thread, have you done a DNA test on Dozier yet? I’d be interested in hearing what you found out… Please post what you learned about Dozier’s breed. Thanks so much!

    Angela
    ragosaangela@gmail.com

    • Mel
      June 3, 2012 at 11:23 PM | #50

      I am so sorry Angela. My brother has not. But we did see a lost dog posted on FB this past week and he could have been Dozer’s twin. He was a Lab/Terrier mix. If my brother does do a DNA test I will definitely post the results!

  1. August 12, 2012 at 10:44 PM | #1
  2. August 12, 2012 at 10:52 PM | #2

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,176 other followers

