Home > Animal Rescue, Little Lady Lost, Missing Pets, Pet Adoption, Pet News > Little Lady Lost – A sense of peace

Little Lady Lost – A sense of peace

November 29, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Looking back on these past 11 days I can honestly say that I feel a distinct sense of before and after. There was my life before Lady was lost and then there is my life after.

That one night, Friday night, November 18th, seems sort of like a dream now (or maybe a nigtmare), but it also feels like a pivotal moment in my life. My life before I lost Lady was a routine. I followed the same schedule, did the same things, but it was fun. I loved spending time with my dogs – taking them for walks, working on obedience training, cuddling with them on the couch, etc. My life after has been so very different. It’s been chaotic and crazy and stressful and emotional. Every day has been filled with the search for Lady – handing out fliers, putting up signs, setting up and checking live traps, searching through woods and tall grass, moving live traps, driving around hoping to see her, racing to the location of the latest sighting… my life has been consumed with the never ending search for her.

That’s why going to work yesterday, the first time since Lady disappeared, was such a strange experience. For eleven days, my life has been consumed with the search for Lady and now here I was going off to work with her still missing. As I said in my previous post, part of me was relieved to get back to work. I craved the routine that would take me away from continuously worrying and wondering about her. Being busy is sometimes the best medicine to grief and worry. It’s an escape. But yesterday there was also a part of me that had a hard time letting go of the search. All day I wondered if there were any sightings or if the fliers were still being distributed (they were) or if she had had been caught in a live trap (sadly, she was not). Then yesterday afternoon, I felt a sense of peace overcome me and I just let it all go. I had the sense that everything would be okay. I don’t know why. I don’t even know what what it means, if it means anything at all, but it has erased all of the tension and worry and fear that I have felt every day since Lady disappeared. Maybe I’m truly letting go for the first time and just letting whatever is meant to be unfold as it is designed to do. Either way, I go to work today knowing that Lady is out there somewhere and that she is okay. We may not find her today or tomorrow, but we will find her. It’s just a matter of time.

Search update: There were no sightings of Lady yesterday. The live traps were empty as well. If she continues to stick to the general pattern she seems to have established for herself, I would expect a sighting today. But, I won’t hold onto that as a given. We just don’t know when she will appear again, or where. More wonderful people handed out fliers yesterday and new ones were made up (thank you Julie). I continue to watch for her and to hand out fliers when I can. Come home Lady.

You can read more about the search for Lady and how she was found in the posts listed below.

Post #1: The search for Lady, my foster dog. How you can help.

Post #2:Foster Dog Lady – Still Missing

Post #3: Little Lady Lost – The Latest

Post #4: Thanksgiving Gratitude Despite Little Lady Still Being Lost

Post #5: Little Lady Lost – Chasing the Wrong Things

Post #6: A Sunbeam of Hope? The Latest on Little Lady Lost

Post #7: Little Lady Lost – The Saturday Update

Post #8: Little Lady Lost – Latest Update & Do’s and Don’ts

Post #9 (This Post): Little Lady Lost – A sense of peace

Post #10: Little Lady Lost – HOME AT LAST!

Post #11: Little Lady Lost and How She Made It Home Again

  1. November 29, 2011 at 6:38 AM

    Everything will be okay, Mel. It might sound trite but I have always believed that. In the end, everything turns out okay. And if it’s not okay, it just means it’s not the end. Holding on to that thought has gotten me through some difficult moments. I hope it can do the same for you. Take care of yourself and your puppies and don’t stop hoping. *hugs*

  2. November 29, 2011 at 7:33 AM

    It’s hard to understand why these things happen, but I do think some good has already come from Lady’s disappearance. You’re educating people about fearful dogs in a very effective way, and you’ve gotten to see how deep your connections in your community run. Now, if we just get Lady back we can hold on to the wonderful lessons and let the memories of the emotional roller coaster fade away. Come home, Lady.

  3. November 29, 2011 at 7:35 AM

    I agree with Kristine, everything happens in its own time. There is a quote I love (well I’m not sure if I’m getting it right or not) that says, “Everything will be ok in the end, if it’s not ok, it’s not the end.”

    Everything happens for a reason though many times we don’t know why until well after the fact, but she WILL come home when the time is right. It’s not always easy to sit back and let the universe work, but sometimes that is all we can do.

    Hang in there.

  4. November 29, 2011 at 7:54 AM

    I know exactly what you’re feeling Mel. When Domino was lost this last summer, I too craved the routine sameness of my everyday life. But when I went to work, I was overcome with such guilt that I wasn’t out looking for Domino. Believe me, I know where you’re coming from. And I believe that things work out the way they are supposed to–whatever that is. You have a fantastic group supporting you and incredible volunteers out looking for Lady. She’ll be found but it’s probably going to be on her time table! Hang in there and keep those positive thoughts coming!

  5. Judtih Smith
    November 29, 2011 at 9:37 AM

    Have had this experience, in Dallas! East Dallas. The only real leads and eventually success to our search for our son’s Catahoula rescued/shelter dog. We got a phone call and successfully retrieved him from a Korean Church yard (never will know how he got there with a man’s belt and a chain dangling form his neck,) after placing an ad in the Dallas Morning News listing the words REWARD $100 with it. We could never recontact the person who called and gave the directions as to where we would find Reno. He never claimed the reward. We suspect there is some reason for this, but do not care. We got Reno back after 20 days walking streets, fliers, groups meeting to search and more. I strongly suggest you place an ad in your local largest paper, we even put it in the Sp
    anish edition of the DMN. Good luck, it takes a village.

  6. November 29, 2011 at 10:32 AM

    Someday you should write an e-book on coping with a lost dog. You could share the practical and emotional lessons everyone needs to learn.

    But for now, I hope you get some spottings that help you bring Lady home.

  7. November 29, 2011 at 10:37 AM

    Oh I can’t imagine how you have felt over the last 11 days, but you are being very brave. This post was very moving and it sounds like you live in a wonderful community with a lot of caring people – I do hope you get some good news and Lady comes home soon.

  8. Jen
    November 29, 2011 at 9:41 PM

    Hang in there, I think talking about it really helps and it seems like you have had such wonderful support. I bet that Lady is going to turn up when everyone least expects it, or at least that is what I am hoping for for you.

  9. November 29, 2011 at 9:43 PM

    I can’t believe that it has already been 11 days and I can only imagine the emotional toll it has taken on you. I’m so glad you feel a little bit of peace – I hope you get some good news soon!!

  10. November 29, 2011 at 10:46 PM

    Peace is not the absent of conflict, it is the ability to deal with it.

    Don’t know who said it, but it is something my husband repeats to me often. 🙂

    Letting go is one the hardest things to do, but it is wonderful when you can.

    In your heart, Lady is home. She will find you at just the right time.

    Peace.

  11. November 30, 2011 at 11:46 AM

    Glad you have reached some sense of peace about it. You need that. Still willing Lady to allow herself to be caught and brought home. In the meantime take care of yourself.

  12. November 30, 2011 at 2:18 PM

    Mel I’m so sorry I’m late in hearing. I will keep my eyes open. I’m in Brooklyn Park – I will check a map for distance to Eagan and as I’m off work tomorrow will take some drives around to see if I can find her walking anywhere.

    I remember when Louis was lost in NC – I was in GA with family and he was with a sitter. My heart sunk as I drove as fast as I could to get to NC to search. What I didn’t know was how many people my sitter had recruited to start looking. I was amazed at the love and support from the community. We used Findtoto.com and put out fliers. Those two things combined caused us to get a call from a man who got our voicemail alert and had also seen the flier. Louis was soon safe at home. We followed water, creeks, etc. thinking he might go in that direction. He ended up walking the golf course, crossing a busy street and laying low. I would have never thought he would have gone so far as small as he is (10 lb doxi).

    Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

    Robert

  13. Toni
    November 30, 2011 at 5:08 PM

    My heart is full. On my way from work tonight, I saw a few cars, a few people, and the Eagan animal control truck. I just knew it was Lady. I stopped and asked one of the people walking away and it was her. Spotted, well, and now hopefully trapped in an enclosed area. I pray that everything goes well and that in the next few hours they can catch her and she can go home with her family! i am sending calm positive thoughts your way…I’m not quite sure why this story touches me so, but it does.

  14. November 30, 2011 at 5:44 PM

    Your story is weighing on my mind and you’re in my thoughts. I hope you find her soon! 😦

  15. November 30, 2011 at 6:52 PM

    Wonderful, wonderful news! Lady’s home!

  16. Sandy Ely
    November 30, 2011 at 7:14 PM

    So happy for both of you!!!

  17. starbail
    November 30, 2011 at 8:58 PM

    MEL! YIPPY!!!!!!!!! So happy you have lady back. Now… when will you adopt her? Wishing you both the best of reunions. Hugs, tail wags, barks and wishing you a good night sleep.

  18. Theresa
    November 30, 2011 at 10:08 PM

    Mel so glad that Lady is found ;o) She will be fine and won’t be long until she is home and feeling loved again.

  19. Darlene
    November 30, 2011 at 11:14 PM

    YAY YAY YAY WOOF WOOF HOORAY I KNEW SHE’D BE HOME, GOD IS GOOD, THANK YOU ST FRANCIS AND MEL-YOU ARE AMAZING-ARE YOU GOING TO BE HER FOREVER MOM? HOPE SO 🙂

  20. Jess
    December 1, 2011 at 7:00 AM

    Mel I am very very glad. Love her love her love her and don’t forget your other babies too

  21. Robert
    December 1, 2011 at 9:00 AM

    So happy to hear the good news Mel! Yall have a great day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

