Home > Health Care - Dogs, Pet Topics > Do you and your pet have a psychic connection?

Do you and your pet have a psychic connection?



Have you ever had a psychic connection with a pet?

When I was 15 years old, I had a Sheltie named Alicia. We did everything together – walking, training, playing, sleeping and just hanging out. We were inseparable. We were also very connected. Our bond was so deep and strong that when I left for college, it broke both our hearts when I had to leave her behind. She had been my constant companion for four years. Not having her with me at college was really, really hard. I know from my mom that she missed me too.

One night, in my sophomore year, I had a dream about Alicia. In my dream, Alicia was really, really sick and the veterinarian kept saying that if she didn’t have surgery, she would die. I woke up with such a strong feeling of dread that I almost started to cry. I tried to shake it off and tell myself that it was just a dream. But, I still couldn’t shake the feeling that something was seriously wrong.

By afternoon, the feeling of dread was so strong that I gave in and called home. My bother answered the phone. I asked him if Alicia was okay and he said that she was fine. I told him about my dream and my concern that something was wrong with her. He reassured me that she was there with him and seemed to be just fine. I reluctantly hung up the phone and headed off to class with that same sick feeling in the pit of my stomach. The feeling that something was seriously wrong just would not leave me.

Two evenings later, my mom called me. She told me that she had taken Alicia into the vet because she had been bleeding. It turns out that Alicia (who had never been spayed) had an infection in her uterus. The vet told my mother that if she did not have surgery, she would die. Thankfully, my mother paid for the surgery. She waited until after the surgery was over to call me knowing that I would have freaked out and wanted to come home immediately.

I remember crying like crazy when she told me. I just KNEW something had been wrong. Even after all these years, I still remember that experience. It was as strong a feeling as I have ever had about anything, including a pet. And although I have never had that kind of psychic experience with a pet ever again, I wonder if anyone else has had similar experience with their pet? I’d love to hear about it.

By the way, Alicia went on to fully recover and lived until the ripe old age of 15 years. We remained bonded until the very end and I was with her when it was time to say goodbye.

  1. Jan
    October 16, 2011 at 10:53 PM

    It’s only among dog bloggers that I can confess to having a psychic connection to a dog. Most people shake their heads and walk away.

    I’ve never had anything that dramatic happen but my first dog that I got when I was 3 and died when I was 18 and one of my current Poodles read my mind. There is no other way to explain many of the things that happen on a daily basis.

    • Mel
      October 17, 2011 at 7:01 AM

      I would never shake my head and walk away Jan. I totally believe you. Some dogs just seem to be able to connect on a deeper level with their humans. I cannot explain my experience. I just know it happened.

  2. October 17, 2011 at 2:39 AM

    Wow, what a story. I believe that such things can happen. Jasmine and I are very close also but I guess because we’re always together there is not need for psychic phenomena. I’m so glad that Alicia made it ok!

    • Mel
      October 17, 2011 at 7:00 AM

      Maybe that’s true Jana. I hadn’t thought of that. Maybe the distance made us connect psychically since we couldn’t connect in person. I’m glad she was okay too. 🙂

  3. October 17, 2011 at 8:35 AM

    After my dog Sadie Mae passed away last year my mother was heart broken. Sadie had been with us for 12 years, and we loved her so much. My mother said she would never get another dog (her and my stepfather had 4 other small dogs, but they were his dogs really) because she couldn’t deal with losing one again. Not long after Sadie died I had a dream with Sadie in it. She was with another dog, and in the dream she made it clear to me that the other dog was my mother’s new dog, and her name was Bella. It was so real I woke up expecting Sadie to still be there, and I couldn’t shake the name Bella from my head. A few months later my mother’s friend came over and said that a dog from doggie daycare needed a new home. The dog’s name was Bella. My mother went to meet her, and it was love at first sight. Poor Bella had been through 5 foster homes, and had my mom not taken her in probably would have gone to a 6th. The two of them are best friends, and it is so obvious that Bella was meant to be my mother’s dog.

    • Mel
      October 17, 2011 at 8:48 AM

      What a beautiful story! It made me teary-eyed reading it. What a gift to have that happen.

    • Mel
      October 17, 2011 at 7:57 PM

      What an amazing story FourPaws. It brought me to tears to think that Sadie had already picked out a new dog for your mom. That is so amazing and beautiful. Thank you for sharing your story.

  4. October 17, 2011 at 8:46 AM

    What an amazing story of your bond with your dog. I truly believe in psychic connections, but haven’t experienced it with my dogs. Maybe because I’m always with them.

    • Mel
      October 17, 2011 at 7:55 PM

      It’s pretty unbelievable ins some ways Sage. But weren’t you just gone visiting your niece? 🙂 I think both of your dogs sound VERY connected to you.

  5. October 17, 2011 at 10:37 AM

    I had a golden retriever when I was young. He would be out in the woods most days, but if I cried, somehow he always knew. He’s be in my room, nuzzling me, before I knew it.

    • Mel
      October 17, 2011 at 7:54 PM

      I think Goldens have a really sensitive demeanor. It makes sense that yours would be so in tune with you. Psychic!

  6. October 17, 2011 at 12:39 PM

    My dog seems to know the instant I’m wondering where she is, and will come running before I can even look around for her, let alone call her. I don’t know about me, but *she* is some kind of psychic. : )

    • Mel
      October 17, 2011 at 7:54 PM

      That is so cool Shannon. I think your dog IS psychic!

  7. October 17, 2011 at 11:36 PM

    That is such an interesting experience. I am in total awe. My relationship with Brut is quite similar to Shannon’s. Almost before I think it, Brut will always come without being called. We are able to read each other’s minds with no words. When it was time for a walk, I would tell in “in 5, 10, 15 minutes” and he would walk away. Sometimes I would be so wrapped up in something and forget I’d said anything, but every time at the exact time I said, he would come back in the room and I would look at the clock, and he always came back at the exact time I said. It was simply amazing to me. I could never figure it out.

    So glad you listened to your instincts and that you were able to share the rest of her life together.

    • Mel
      October 18, 2011 at 11:07 PM

      I think you and Brut have such a special relationship as you have written before. It’s no wonder he is so in tune with you. But, to be able to know when to come bak? Amazing. He’s a special dog.

  8. October 18, 2011 at 8:15 AM

    Who knows? I am of the belief that anything is possible, What you experienced with Alicia is fascinating and whatever it was, a psychic connection or just a coincidence, it certainly is evidence of your very close bond. I am so glad you listened to the voice in the back of your head. Relationships like that are very rare.

    • Mel
      October 18, 2011 at 11:05 PM

      I’m glad I listened too Kristine. I can’t describe the absolute almost frenetic feeling I had that day. I’ve had it happen twice before and had things I’ve dreamt come true, but it’s not frequent enough for me to know if it is coincidence or not. All I know is that the memory has stuck with me ever since.

  9. October 18, 2011 at 10:21 AM

    While I have never had a psychic moment with an animal, I did read a very interesting book. In Wesley The Owl, the author describes her experiences of living with an owl. There were a few times when she had to groom Wesley, but she knew that it would scare him. For a week before she had to trim his beak, she would visualize what she was going to do to him so he knew what was going to happen. Apparently it worked out quite well!

    • Mel
      October 18, 2011 at 11:01 PM

      That’s really fascinating Karen. I wonder if it would work with dogs too? I just might have to try it. Very cool!

  10. Michelle
    December 12, 2012 at 4:59 PM

    I have a similar story. I was in the middle of a divorce. My 12 yr. old Rott/Shepherd mix had just been diagnosed iwth cancer and given 2 mos. to live. I had to leave him at my ex-husband’s house as neither “friend” i was staying with would allow me to bring him. 2 wks after he was diagnosed I woke up with a terrible feeling that something was wrong. It grew stronger all day and early the following morning I phoned my soon-to-be ex husband and asked about it. He told me Jonah was too weak to walk and that he left him lying in a pool of his own vomit (yes, there should be a special place in Hell for my ex) as he was too busy to phone me and let me know. I got there in time to get him to the vet and held him until the end.

    • Mel
      December 12, 2012 at 8:42 PM

      Oh MIchelle! I am so very sorry. What an awful thing for him to do. I am so glad you had your feeling and that you were able to be there with him at the end. I think animals let us know when they need us most. ( A special place in hell isn’t even good enough for your ex. Ugh!)

  11. Joe
    February 18, 2013 at 6:25 PM

    I was about 21 and I lived at college about 30 minutes away from home. I met a friend and on her last night I decided to show her my home before she left for NY again. My dog Toby who realistically I wasn’t very close to but I guess we never really ever had a bad moment I just never spent much time with her growing up. As I passed my home. mind you it was about 230 or so in the morning, with all intentions of going back to college and party with some friends I suddenly stopped maybe 200 yards from my house and said hey, do you want to just stay here? I went inside and went up the stairs and to the right was my room, it was pitch black and I couldnt see anything but I looked down in front of my door and then looked at my friend and said something was wrong. Turns out Toby was sitting in front of my door waiting for me to come home, I hadnt been home in months, and she was dying. She had waited for my dad to leave for the week for surgery and had called out to me while I passed by my house randomly in the middle of the night. Ive never had anything like that happen since and I am not even remotely psychic but this definitely happened to me and it has definitely haunted me since definitely

    • Mel
      February 18, 2013 at 6:33 PM

      Wow. That is an amazing story. I have no doubt Toby was calling out to you. Sometimes they just know and sometimes they let us know. Thanks for sharing your story.

  12. Samantha
    April 6, 2013 at 9:01 PM

    I have always felt a connection with dogs, I’m only 16 and I help out at a local shelter. Some of the “meanest” dogs that get brought in never scare me. For some reason I feel safer around dogs. The ones who are brought in because of alleged attacks on people always bond so closely with me. There was one dog, Champ who came in and growled at everyone and even bit my mentor but when I went in his cage he calmed down and came over to me letting me pet him. He acted just like a puppy. I also have a German Shepherd of my own who I bond very closely with. He’s always by my side. I can’t explain it but I feel like I have a sixth sense when it comes to dogs. They are so misunderstood and I think that all anyone has to do is give them a chance and they open right up.

  13. Angelica
    August 24, 2013 at 10:54 AM

    I know how u feel. I woke up at 3:00am and I felt scared for some reason so I went back to sleep and when I woke up I saw my cat was died. I asked my grandma what time do you think she died and she said around 2:00 to 4:00. So I woke up because she died.

    • Mel
      August 25, 2013 at 5:23 PM

      Oh Angelica. I am so very sorry. I think you must have had a psychic connection for you to awake at the exact moment she died. I am just so sad for your loss of your sweet girl.

  14. Gianna
    June 17, 2014 at 3:02 PM

    I too had a similar experience with my lil terrier mix. I had been living in Mexico but had to leave for the states to take care of financial duties. During a period of 2 wks I felt Prince-E was dying. I cried every day, would call Mexico & was told everything was OK – they lied. When I went back, I was told the truth – infact he was very sick because they took down the plastic shower curtain in my apt & he ate half of it. His stomach swelled. His inner instinct was to chew on plants, grasses & regurgitate, that’s when he started feeling better. Prince-E & I are close & we understand each other. I never trained him BUT talked & explained & he in turn demonstrates his intelligence in comprehending. He’s a very special unusual boy whom I love so much.

  15. Lily
    January 25, 2015 at 10:50 PM

    I once woke up from a deep sleep to find my maltipoo Molly staring me straight in the eyes. I woke up and said “Do you want to go out?” She started dancing around as to say YES ! After she passed away 3 nights later I had a very vivid dream that she was staring at me and giving me kisses telling me I’m ok ,I’m ok don’t worry.When I woke up the surroundings from my dream were all the same but she was no longer there with me. We have a very special connection that death couldn’t take away.

    • Mel
      January 25, 2015 at 11:08 PM

      Wow Lily! That is awesome. I am so glad she let you know she was okay and that she is still with you. It sounds like you both had a bond that death could not break. Thank you for sharing your story.

  16. Don
    July 21, 2015 at 8:44 PM

    I recently lost my miniature dachshund, Gabby. She was almost 18 years old and had a happy, active life until the very end. She was my little doggie soulmate and my grief is beyond words. I think we had a spiritual bond, and I feel like she communicates with me now, telling me she is ok and we will be together again someday. I hope that is true! Here is an example of our bond.

    Years ago I was in Canada with Gabby. She was six years old. I had been dating a girl from Toronto named Kim. I was 100% self-employed it was no problem to split my time up between the USA and Canada, and it was fun. Kim’s family had a beautiful house in the country and I remember lying on the hammock there with Gabby at my side, in the shade of the red maple tree. If Gabby and I were in the same place, she was at my side. She never wanted to be anywhere else.

    One Sunday we were at an all-day social event Kim’s church was hosting at a farm about 10 miles away. There were no dogs permitted because church services were part of it, so I left Gabby at Kim’s house with their dogs. It was an all day affair that ran from 9 am to 6 pm, and I had planned to stay the whole day there. Around 3:30 Kim and I were walking together and I stopped dead in my tracks. Something was wrong and Gabby needed me, I just knew it. I told Kim, “Let’s go back to your house. I want to check on Gabby.”

    “Why?” Kim replied. “I am sure she is fine, my sister said the dogs are all locked up in the house together.”

    “I don’t care,” I replied. “I want to check on her and I’m going, you can come if you want.”

    By now Kim was tired of the event anyway so she came with me. When we got there, all the dogs were loose and Gabby was at the bottom of the driveway near the house, looking concerned. I am sure she was looking for me. The dogs had not been outside for long, based on her proximity to the house, which was in the middle of nowhere off of a high-speed rural road, at the top of a somewhat blind hill. I probably got hit by that worrisome feeling at almost exactly the same time she actually went outside. When I opened the car door, Gabby and I made eye contact and she started trotting up to me slowly, but with a concerned look on her face. Apparently Kim’s sister had left one of the doors to the house unlocked and cracked open, and the dogs found it and got out unattended.

    I picked Gabby up and kissed her, and she seemed relieved. If I had waited until 6 pm to go back she probably would have wandered off looking for me, and either gotten hit by a car or gotten lost, and way out there I would never have found her. Somehow I knew, ten miles away in the middle of the day, that she was in trouble at that very moment and I had to get back right away.

    That is the kind of connection we shared. People who knew us and saw us together commented on how close and connected we were, even dog people were amazed. They said they had never seen a person and a dog who bonded like we did, and were amazed at how well Gabby understood me and clung to me, and how protective I was of her.

    I love you and miss you, Gabby.

  17. missdominique
    February 22, 2016 at 3:00 PM

    Aw, That’s such a nice story. That makes me so happy to hear. I’ve had several similar experiences. When my cat Katie was being put to sleep by a family member, I had a vision and got this horrible feeling of dread. At the same time, I felt rain or tears or something falling from the sky onto my skin. I knew exactly what was happening and I called my family, asking what had happened to Katie. They told me that they had just put her to sleep. I of course felt terrible that I hadn’t been able to be there, but I was glad for our connection during that final moment.
    I’ve also had deep connections with my cats Annabelle (who passed away and who I believe came back to me) and Annie (the cat I believe to be Annabelle). I can call to Annie and could call to Annabelle without saying a word. I always know when she’s in a room or when she’s looking at me and it hurts when I’m not with her. I’ve had plenty of cats in my life, all with our own special bond and connections, but Annabelle/Annie and I have the strongest connection I’ve ever felt. It feels nice to have that sort of connection with any living creature, but it feels extra special to have it with your best friend.

    • Mel
      February 22, 2016 at 8:44 PM

      How sweet! I love that they can come back and visit. It’s comforting to know they are not gone, just on another plane. It most definitely is special. 🙂

  18. Don
    February 22, 2016 at 8:59 PM

    Thank you for commenting. You can read much more on Gabby’s new website, called My Little Gabby. At http://mylittlegabby.com you can read the story of our life together, illustrated with pictures and videos. I had a couple of other amazing experiences that I have shared there. If you have ever loved and lost a dog, I think what you read there will make you feel confident you will see them again someday!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

