Home > Dog Behavior, Pet Topics, Saturday Pet Blogger Hop > Daisy & Jasper: Is It Doggie Love? You decide.

Daisy & Jasper: Is It Doggie Love? You decide.

September 9, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I am often amazed at how close Daisy and Jasper are and how much they care for one another. There might be a 5 year age difference between them but that doesn’t really seem to matter. They could be littermates or boyfriend and girlfriend.

Maybe this is common for dogs in the same home. Maybe dogs who live together just naturally become this affectionate and loving with one another. I don’t really know because this is really my first time raising two dogs together. I had only had Daisy about 6 months when I lost my Aspen. I had never planned to get another dog, but then along came Jasper. Tthere was no way he could go anywhere else. He was meant to be with us.

Last Friday I had the chance to witness their affection for each another again, and once again I wondered “Is this typical behavior for dogs?”

We had gone to the dog park for a little fun. Jasper was wired and needed to burn off a little energy. He entered the dog park like a bat out of hell and proceeded to run around like a crazy man, barking at everyone. I threw some sticks into the tall field grass to keep him busy and then we walked around the park with an old friend we hadn’t seen in a while (he had lost his beloved English Bulldog, Charlie, in March).

Just as we were about to leave, we saw another friend entering the dog park, Angel. Angel is a 11 to 12 month old Great Dane and she’s all legs and ears and awkward body movements, and when she runs she’s like a moving brick wall. Keeping out of her way is the best way not to get hurt. 🙂

On that day, Angel was just as wired as Jasper. She came flying into the dog park and went right for Daisy; trying to get her to play with her. This was really unusual behavior for Angel. She has never even acknowledged Daisy in our past walks with her. To be honest, I didn’t even think she even knew who Daisy was. But on this Friday, she wanted to play with her.

Unfortunately, her playful approach only scared Daisy. She was all paws and jaws and kept jumping on Daisy (have you ever had a Great Dane jump on you?). I know she meant no harm, but to Daisy it was terrifying. She tried running away, but Angel kept chasing her and pawing at her. “What a fun game this is!” she seemed to say.

That’s when it happened. Jasper, seeing his girl in distress, flew into the mix to protect her. He went after Angel with the serious intention of letting her know in no uncertain terms that she needed to back off. I was completely caught off-guard. I had never seen him act this way before. I had been so busy trying to get Angel’s attention away from Daisy that I hadn’t seen Jasper getting agitated until he was in the thick of things.

Of course, Angel fought back and me and her mom had to separate them and let them cool down. I could tell Angel’s mom was upset, and I admit, so was I. I had never expected Jasper to react in that way, nor had I expected Angel to fight back with just as much energy as Jasper had directed at her. It was quite a frightening moment. Not one I care to repeat.

But it was what happened afterwards that surprised me most and also warmed my heart. It also made me wonder if my dogs are a bit unusual in their affection for one another.

As soon as we got in the car to leave, Jasper began grooming Daisy. First, he cleaned her ears and then her whole face. He even cleaned the tags on her collar! I know I am probably reading more into it than I should, but it almost seemed as if he was reassuring her, and himself, that everything was okay. I couldn’t help but be touched by his tenderness. How can you not?

In the past, I have seen Daisy do the very same thing with Jasper. She checks on him if he gets hurt or he is away for a while. It’s as if she needs to check him all over to be sure he’s in all one piece and that he’s okay.

So is this unusual behavior? Do your dogs do this? Do they show deep affection with one another?


Welcome to the Saturday Pet Blogger Blog Hop. I encourage you to check out some of the other awesome bloggers out there. Much thanks to our most generous and interesting hosts, Life With Dogs, Two Little Cavaliers, and Confessions of the Plume!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

  1. September 10, 2011 at 1:25 AM

    I think that is a lovely, shining example of love! How cavalier of Jasper to fly into action to protect the lovely Miss Daisy 😀 His doting on her for the car ride home just made me smile. I hope that Jersey & Dexter eventually develop a relationship like your dogs.

    • Mel
      September 10, 2011 at 7:32 AM

      I think so too Karen! I have never seen him try to defend her before, probably because he’s never needed to, but it was quite amazing considering how much bigger Angel is compared to him.
      I did smile on that drive home. It was so sweet and tender. I hope Jersey and Dexter form that kind of relationship too!

  2. September 10, 2011 at 6:08 AM

    I think Jasper’s behavior also reflects your love for him and Daisy. You’ve created a home for them where they don’t have to compete and know there is plenty of love, attention, and food to go around.

    Sorry Jasper had a kerfuffle in the park. It sounds like Angel forgot her manners.

    • Mel
      September 10, 2011 at 7:30 AM

      Oh Pamela. I really like to think that might be true. What a lovely way to think about it!

      P.S. I think Angel is still a puppy who’s still learning her manners. I think she will be fine once she grows up. 🙂

  3. September 10, 2011 at 8:15 AM

    I see that with our Toby and Sage, although they are 10 years apart in age. When Toby was having so much trouble a few months ago, Sage was the attentive one. When Sage needs to run and have one of her crazy moments, she looks to Toby to “cheer her on”. It’s quite amazing to watch the bond between the two dogs in your household.

    • Mel
      September 10, 2011 at 12:47 PM

      That is so sweet Ann. I love that Sage was attentive when Toby needed her and that Toby cheers Sage on when she needs it. I agree. The bond is quite amazing to see.

  4. September 10, 2011 at 10:33 AM

    The intervention at the dog park is called “splitting.” Dogs understand these tensions and will put themselves between other dogs or intervene like this to help “cool things off.” Granted, this episode led to a little tussle, but the intent was the same. That’s sweet what happened in the car.

    Mine don’t groom each other, and they get crabby with each other once in a while, but I know that they do love each other.

    • Mel
      September 10, 2011 at 12:46 PM

      Thank you Roxanne! I learned something new from you today! I had never heard the term “splitting” before, although I have seen the behavior many times. My last dog, Aspen, was the supreme Splitter. Se was always breaking things up. I was really touched by what happened in the car.
      I have very rarely seen mine get crabby with one another. Usually it’s Jasper who gets crabby because Daisy sat on his tail. I think dogs show love to one another in so many ways.

  5. September 10, 2011 at 10:34 AM

    No it is NOT unusual. Until recently I lived with a Wiemaraner named Sage. She was old and her health was declining. I was very sad and did not want to be away from her because she needed me to protect her! So when I went for walks I would not go far before stubbornly insisting we return home. For awhile after she left us I moped and grieved. Dogs experience emotion just like people do.

  6. September 11, 2011 at 3:24 AM

    I have seen Kenzo do this as well for Viva. He moves in between, and uses body language to make clear to the other dog he is not welcome. I don’t like it though, and worry he learns that a more aggressive stance pays off.

    • Mel
      September 11, 2011 at 11:08 PM

      I don’t like it either Kenzo. The affection is great and sweet and I have no problem with it, but the protective stance always worried me. I think you and I are in the same boat my friend.

  7. September 11, 2011 at 5:58 PM

    Such a great story!

    I think that while many dogs living in the same house will bond, it won’t be the same with all dogs. When we brought in our late rescue Bruin, Jasmine kindly accepted him into her home and he respected her being the one who the house belongs to. They lived together for three years, before he passed. They were civil to each other, but they never developed a strong bond. I would say they ever loved one another in any way.

    Bruin never cared for any dogs. Jasmine tried to play with him and engage him at first but soon gave up and accepted him as an annoying piece of furniture.

    And Jasmine is very caring and outgoing. She cares about any dog in trouble, mate or stranger and will come to help if it seems needed.

    Jasmine had a very close relationship with her Boxer body, those two didn’t live together but loved each other dearly.

    Jasmine and JD also love each other very much.

    I think with dogs its like with people. Some will grow closer than others.

    • Mel
      September 11, 2011 at 11:07 PM

      Interesting Jana. I guess that goes against 24 Paws’ theory of the male-female thing, but I still think there may be something to it.
      Jasmine truly sounds like an amazing dog. I think she gets her love of people and other dogs from her mom. I love that she was so close to her Boxer buddy and JD. 🙂

  8. September 11, 2011 at 10:09 PM

    Happens all the time around here. Nothing unusual about it that I know of. Seems rather natural, at least I think so. I think even more so when you have a male and female, they become a sort of “item”, so to speak and will look out for and protect each other from any “outsiders.”

    Chance and Blaze are so tight they become a basket case if the one leaves for a while. They’ve gotten better, but I really hate splitting them two up for any reason. They just hate to be apart. 🙂

    • Mel
      September 11, 2011 at 11:04 PM

      Maybe that is the explanation 24 Paws. Daisy and jasper definitely seem like an “item” in many ways. It certainly explains a lot. Jasper and Daisy hate to be apart too.

  9. Kristine
    September 12, 2011 at 5:52 AM

    I just wrote a post about my resolve not to adopt another dog for a very long while. And then I go on to read your post which make me want to change my mind! I have no idea if this is typical behaviour or not but I think it is evidence of a very close bond between Jasper and Daisy. All dogs should be so lucky.

    • Mel
      September 12, 2011 at 10:35 PM

      Oh no! Well, perhaps reading my response to AJ will help in your decision-making. I never wanted more than one dog, but sometimes a dog just picks you and then you just cant say no. 🙂

  10. September 12, 2011 at 10:37 AM

    When I was a child, our two dogs (Toy Fox Terrier and Chihuahua) were like this. They could be cranky with each other but there was definitely affection and occasional protectiveness coming through.

    I have really been thinking about adding another dog to our household for a while, but I wonder if Bella would enjoy the company or get annoyed that someone was in her house. If we do add another dog, I hope we can be like you – Pamela’s comment about making a home where they didn’t feel the need to compete really struck a chord with me.

    • Mel
      September 12, 2011 at 10:33 PM

      To be honest AJ, I never wanted nor planned for another dog. I have always been a one-dog person until I brought Jasper home. There were two things that went into my decision – 1) I fell in love with the little bugger, and 2) puppy mill dogs, like Daisy, do better when they have another dog around. I’m guessing that it has a lot to do with the fact that they were always surrounded by dogs and find comfort in having another dog around.

      Although I claim to be no expert, but I have often heard Katie K9 ( a local dog trainer and radio host) say that if you are getting another dog for your dog then don’t do it. But if you are getting another dog because you want another one then do your research and find one that fits into your family. I believe her reasoning is that when people get another dog for the other dog they often believe the two dogs will be the best of friends and that is not always the case. Sometimes it invites more problems than solutions. I think it’s great advice to live by. I wish you the very best in your decision. Trust me. I had all of your doubts and questions too.

  11. Cindy
    February 14, 2013 at 7:52 AM

    Awe…Another reason I love that handsome man.

    • Mel
      February 14, 2013 at 10:10 PM

      Yeah. Me too Cindy. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

