Home > Dog Behavior, Dog Breed Information, Favorite Video Friday, Pet Videos > Favorite Video Friday – Greyhounds Home Alone

Favorite Video Friday – Greyhounds Home Alone


This week I was looking for a video of dogs playing with balloons.

“Funny”, you say. This video doesn’t look anything like dogs with balloons.

Yup. You’re right. I honestly don’t have a good explanation for why I chose this time-lapse video of Greyhounds and Lurchers staying at home alone, other than it made me laugh.

You must keep your eye on the white Greyhound. For some reason, I immediately thought of Carrie’s Bunny over at Tales and Tails. Of course, I could be completely off (only Carrie knows for sure), but the diva-esque-like quality to this dog made me laugh. I hope you get a kick out of it too.

(P.S. Listen to the barks – aren’t they hilarious?)

  1. August 18, 2011 at 10:20 PM

    Ha ha ha! Oh yeah, that dog acts a lot like Bunny, although she’s probably more likely to be the one in the far chair. She doesn’t have the destructive streak that boy in the video has, thank gosh! The barks completely cracked me up!

    • Mel
      August 18, 2011 at 10:21 PM

      LOL! I only had her personality as it is conveyed via the keyboard to go off of Carrie, but it’s what I thought when I saw this funny Greyhound. Lucky you that she isn’t destructive! I love the barks too. 🙂

  2. August 19, 2011 at 12:36 AM

    I’m amazed at how well behaved the whole pack is, in general! Such good doggies!

    • Mel
      August 19, 2011 at 7:57 AM

      In all honesty Karen, I was too. They were very well behaved (and adorable).

  3. Elkie
    August 19, 2011 at 3:45 AM

    Hi all, Im actually the owner of that mad pack which is now 10!! The white dog is called Cauchy and he really is a diva. It was interesting for us to see who caused all the mess and fuss when we went out. We thought it would be the fawn pup Dexter and were surprised it was Cauchy. We always have to leave some card for him to rip up or he trashes the house !!!

    • Mel
      August 19, 2011 at 7:54 AM

      Hi Elkie! I am so glad you commented! I love your video.
      How funny that you thought it was Dexter who was causing the mess only to discover is was Cauchy. You must have been so surprised when you watched the video!
      I’ve been wanting to do something similar with my dogs, but haven’t got the camera to do so yet. I love seeing what they are up to. As someone who has always wanted a Greyhound, but never had the chance, I so enjoyed seeing how yours interacted. There is just something about them that says Personality! 🙂
      Thank you for letting me share your video. It’s awesome.

  4. August 19, 2011 at 11:51 AM

    I love it! I’ve always thought about trying to film Bella when I’m gone to see what she’s up to.

  5. August 19, 2011 at 2:57 PM

    I swear I’ve seen this before. Maybe it was just another video that was similar. I don’t remember the dogs being greyhounds. Are all greyhounds such princesses? 😉

    Very good dogs, though. Shiva would have knocked over those plants and pulled everything off the shelves. Potentially eaten a carpet or two. *sigh*

    By the way, thanks for the link on Lurchers. I’d never heard of them before but they sound awesome!

  6. August 21, 2011 at 10:38 AM

    As far as I’m concerned, this video was the perfect choice even without balloons. I loved it.

    I have always been wandering what my 2 Shih Tzu boys do when I’m away from home and I keep telling myself that I should video them. One of these days I’ll actually get around to doing it.

    Until I witness otherwise, I will continue to tell myself that they are just fine.

  7. August 21, 2011 at 5:18 PM

    What a dainty destructo-dog! He looked so delicate as he shredded that card. 🙂

    • Mel
      August 21, 2011 at 10:51 PM

      LOL! That he did Pamela. 🙂

  8. August 23, 2011 at 10:07 AM

    THE DOG IN THE BACK RIGHT NEVER MOVES… until Elkie comes home. I was worried! And even after she comes back, (s)he just lies right back down in the same chair! Hilarious!

    • Mel
      August 24, 2011 at 6:27 AM

      LOL! I noticed that too Lori. I was thinking it was perhaps an older dog who was used to all the goings on in the house. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

