Home > Daisy, Health Care - Dogs, Pet Topics, Pine River puppy mill, puppy mill dogs > Why I love my dog’s veterinarian

Why I love my dog’s veterinarian


dewoskin

Dr. Melissa DeWoskin, DVM

I’ve been wanting to give a shout out to my dog’s veterinarian for some time now. She is truly one of the best, especially if you have a shy or fearful dog. My visit with her yesterday just reminded me why I love her so much.

Her name is Dr. Melissa DeWoskin (DVM) and she is located at Keller Lake Animal Hospital .

I first discovered Dr. DeWoskin back when I first adopted Daisy (almost 7 years ago). In those days, Daisy was a very scared puppy mill girl. She was fearful of people and new places, and cowered at the slightest sound. Dr. DeWoskin and the staff went out of their way to make Daisy feel more comfortable. They gave her space, shared treats to help make things a little less scary and used slow movements to check her out. Because of their efforts and kindness, Daisy now looks forward to going to the vet. She is only too happy to see Dr. DeWoskin or the staff because she knows yummy treats and gentle hands will be the experience of the day.10003452_680528468675191_563349325_n

Yesterday was Maggie’s first visit with Dr. DeWoskin, and once again she reaffirmed to me why I continue to bring all my dogs to her. Here is how Maggie’s first encounter went with Dr. DeWoskin:

  • She came into the exam room and instead of coming right over to Maggie, she sat down on the floor opposite from her.
  • She talked with me and watched Maggie as she opened a package of string cheese.
  • As we talked about Maggie and how she was doing and where she came from, Dr. DeWoskin tossed her pieces of the cheese.
  • Maggie might have been unsure about the room and the sounds in the clinic, but she was more than happy to eat the cheese. (Serious progress for a puppy mill girl!).
  • Dr. DeWoskin didn’t stand for some time, but when she did she moved slowly and watched Maggie’s body language the whole time (Oh yeah. Did I mention that both she and the staff make an effort to understand dog body language? That is such a huge a win for the dogs!)
  • She then laid a mat out on the exam table, so Maggie wouldn’t slip and slide, and examined her slowly while sharing cheese bits with her throughout the exam.
  • When she was done, she gave Maggie her space and let her settle in.

As a result of her efforts, Maggie left her office much calmer and comfortable than she had been when we first got there.

I could be totally generalizing here, but I think it is pretty rare to find a vet who understands shy and fearful dogs. Dr. DeWoskin just “gets” it. I never feel like I am putting my dogs in a situation where I end up feeling guilty for subjecting them to their care.

I love that she watches a dog’s body language before making a move towards them. I love that the staff are as gentle as she is in caring for my pets. How often do you hear about veterinarians and their staff studying dog body language as a part of their day-to-day work?

So a big shout out to Dr. Melissa DeWoskin! This is why I continue to drive across town to see you. You totally rock!

I should also mention that Dr. Lillie and Dr. Mead are great too!

 

Enough with the vet's office. Can we go home now?

Can we go home now?

  1. March 25, 2014 at 7:00 AM

    Good vets are hard to find! We went through quite a few before finding the IGH Animal Hospital and we love it there. Glad you have a great vet too, it is so important to have someone you really like and trust!

    • Mel
      March 26, 2014 at 6:48 AM

      I have heard great things about them Emma. Everyone I know who has gone there loves it. If I didn’t already have an awesome vet I would consider going there too. I am gl;ad you have someone you like and trust too.

  2. March 25, 2014 at 7:04 AM

    Good vets are truly hard to find.. High Paws!

  3. March 25, 2014 at 7:10 AM

    You are so lucky. I’m shopping around for a regular vet now. Ours has just remodeled and turned into less of a family vet and more of a business. Nothnig wrong with that it’s just a little impersonal. Glad that Maggie had an easy time of it – hope all checked out okay.

    • Mel
      March 26, 2014 at 6:48 AM

      I totally get the impersonal part. I have experienced that in the past. I prefer someone who shows they care and who is interested in making the dog feel better and not getting the exam done. I sure hope you find a new one you like soon. (Maggie is fine. Just a teeth cleaning in her future.)

  4. March 25, 2014 at 7:48 AM

    It’s great you found a good vet. We are glad we found one too even if we have to drive nearly an hour.

    • Mel
      March 26, 2014 at 6:45 AM

      It’s worth it isn’t it EasyWeimaraner? I would drive farther if I needed to just to be able to have my dogs see her.

  5. March 25, 2014 at 7:55 AM

    Its wonderful when yoo find a nice vet that seems to care aboot the animals. Our hoomans have recently moved vets because the old one was becoming too business like whereas the new one is great and the vets seem to really like us!
    The Pigs xx

    • Mel
      March 26, 2014 at 6:46 AM

      I am glad your humans found the right vet. I think it is so important to feel comfortable when you take your pets to someone.

      • March 26, 2014 at 10:19 AM

        Whee agree! It also helps that our hooman spent some time at the vets through school so has learnt to trust them with our care as she loves us furry much!
        The Pigs xx

  6. March 25, 2014 at 9:39 AM

    Nothing like having a great vet on your side – it really takes a lot of the stress and worry about providing your pet the best care possible.

    • Mel
      March 26, 2014 at 6:44 AM

      You hit the nail on the head Will and Eko. It does ease a lot of the stress and worry.

  7. jan
    March 25, 2014 at 10:27 AM

    We have been very lucky also to have found a good vet. I wish that he took human patients.

    • Mel
      March 26, 2014 at 6:43 AM

      I wish mine did too Jan!

  8. March 25, 2014 at 1:02 PM

    I’m very lucky that I found a great Vet close to home. Lacy is so relaxed there and even has her safe spot where she goes to and lays down. They make her feel safe and secure, she even has her favorite techs there that she will look for before she lays down. A Vet you trust is very hard to find.

    • Mel
      March 26, 2014 at 6:43 AM

      I am so glad Carole. I know that you know how important finding the right vet is for our shy girls. It’s so wonderful that Lacy also has her are spot and favorite people there too. :)

  9. March 25, 2014 at 1:30 PM

    It is so important to have a vet you actually like, and not just trust/respect. I am also lucky that regard, but many are not.

    • Mel
      March 26, 2014 at 6:41 AM

      True Rebekah. Not everyone has one the like and trust and respect. I cannot imagine taking my dogs to any other vet.

  10. March 25, 2014 at 1:51 PM

    A good vet is worth his/her weight in gold! Ours recently retired, so I tried a new one based on a recommendation, and thankfully it’s working out. Prior to our previous vet, I’d gone through 3 or 4 before settling. Never a fun process. But it sounds like yours is pretty great!

    • Mel
      March 26, 2014 at 6:41 AM

      Amen to that Jen. I am so glad you found a new one you like. That can be the hard part sometimes.

  11. March 25, 2014 at 6:59 PM

    Your vet sounds wonderful. There is nothing better than having a great vet. It takes soooooo much of the stress for the owner away!

    • Mel
      March 26, 2014 at 6:40 AM

      I SO agree Hailey and Zaphod. We are lucky to have her.

  12. March 26, 2014 at 2:11 AM

    Every great veterinarian is to be treasured! Now, our priorities had been different, as none of our dogs ever minded visiting a vet and our challenges were all of physical nature. Our main focus has been primarily medical expertise. I don’t know how is our vet around fearful dogs but I do know he’s always very gentle and mindful of the dog he’s working with.

    • Mel
      March 26, 2014 at 6:39 AM

      Agreed Jana. I think finding the right vet that meets your and your dog’s needs is so important.

  13. March 26, 2014 at 9:31 AM

    I’m fortunate enough to work for such a vet and it really does make all of the difference.

    • Mel
      March 26, 2014 at 10:46 PM

      You are indeed fortunate. I agree. It makes all the difference to me anyways. :)

  14. March 27, 2014 at 11:00 AM

    My recent vets have all examined my dogs on the ground. They only use the exam table if it’s absolutely necessary. I’m so thankful for that simple realization that such a simple thing can make a dog more comfortable.

    It sounds like your vet is a perfect match for you and your fearful girls. You’re very lucky to have found her.

  15. March 27, 2014 at 7:49 PM

    Holistic/homeopathic is the only way we’ll go. If that vet starts espousing too many vaccines/drugs/insecticide poison, we are out of there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,441 other followers

