Home > Jasper, Pet Videos, Saturday Pet Blogger Hop > Herding Water? The Craziness that is Jasper.

Herding Water? The Craziness that is Jasper.


I was all set to share a cute picture montage of a rescue flight today, but I ran into a glitch with some of the photos. So instead, I bring you the craziness that is Jasper.

Ever since I took him and Daisy to the Minnehaha Falls Dog Park along the Mississippi River, he has been obsessed with herding water. It doesn’t matter if it’s in a lake, in a river or in his water dish (as you will soon see).

Please ignore the wheel barrow and dirty water dish. These are the after effects of a severe thunderstorm that rolled through the night before. The water dish is what I was trying to clean out when Jasper went into herding mode.

BTW – “Trouble” is Jasper’s nickname. He’s had it since he was a puppy. It definitely fits him. :)

Welcome to the Saturday Pet Blogger Blog Hop. I encourage you to check out some of the other awesome pet bloggers out there. My thanks to our most generous and giving hosts, Life With Dogs, Two Little Cavaliers, and Confessions of the Plume!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

  1. May 26, 2012 at 8:02 AM | #1

    Jasper certainly has a talent. I don’t think my dogs even think about water as much as he seems to do! I love shelties and I’m glad he’s your rescue!

    Dropping by on the blog hop today to celebrate Memorial Day by honoring the long history of the military using dogs in conflicts. It’s an oldie, but a goodie. Thank a veteran (and their military dogs) today! (To see the video: http://www.Pet-Peeves.org)

    Have a terrific weekend with your furry kids!

  2. May 26, 2012 at 8:53 AM | #2

    This is too funny! Jasper is hilarious. A good friend’s Sheltie loves to herd the waves at the beach but I’ve never heard of herding a water dish. I guess when you’ve gotta herd, you’ve gotta herd!

    Are you planning on getting him back out on sheep again soon?

  3. May 26, 2012 at 8:57 AM | #3

    I thought you were joking but he really is trying to herd the water! ROFL

  4. May 26, 2012 at 10:07 AM | #4

    LOL I love the way he looked up when you said “Trouble”! I’ve never considered that a dog might be herding something that doesn’t have a pulse; now I’ll be re-evaluating my impression of dogs’ behavior!

    • Mel
      May 27, 2012 at 6:32 PM | #5

      Ha! Yes. Jasper herds anything that moves. It doesn’t matter if it is a living, breathing thing or not.

      Jasper has had that nickname since I first got him. I’ve always used it affectionately so when he hears it he knows that I am playing with him. Daisy often wags her tail in excitement when she hears it too. I sometimes wish I had named him that from the beginning, but I didn’t know he would be such a turkey then. LOL!

  5. Janice in GA
    May 26, 2012 at 11:20 AM | #6

    Cute, but I don’t know that I’d call it herding behavior. :) He’s playing.

    • Mel
      May 27, 2012 at 6:30 PM | #7

      Thanks Janice. I kindly beg to differ. Jasper herds everything that moves. He herds runners, bikes, sheep, the cat, and his sister, Daisy. It is an urge that is deep in his soul. :)

  6. jackiebouchard
    May 26, 2012 at 1:43 PM | #8

    Too cute. I also have a friend with a Sheltie that tries to herd the waves/water ski boats at the bay where we walk.

    Had to turn the sound down as Rita was wondering what the heck was going on!

    • Mel
      May 27, 2012 at 6:25 PM | #9

      Thanks for stopping by Jackie. I think this has to be a Sheltie thing. Glad I am not the only one with a crazy pup. :)

  7. Patrick Callahan
    May 26, 2012 at 10:22 PM | #10

    Love it. Our Sheltie, Rio comes unglued every time the spigot is turned on and tries to herd the water from the garden hose. Thanks for the great video.

    • Mel
      May 27, 2012 at 6:27 PM | #11

      How funny! These silly dogs of ours huh? I love my Shelties. They make me laugh and smile every day. It sounds like Rio does the same for you. :)

  8. May 27, 2012 at 7:24 AM | #12

    That is so cute!!

    • Mel
      May 27, 2012 at 6:27 PM | #13

      Thanks Bassetmomma! I have to admit that it makes me laugh. I often tell him he is nuttier than a fruitcake. I love him. :)

  9. May 28, 2012 at 8:20 AM | #14

    Oh my goodness – how cute is Jasper? :)

  1. June 24, 2012 at 9:11 PM | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,177 other followers

