Home > Miscellaneous, Pet Ponderings, Pet Topics > Walking dogs in the dark. Why I hate the “fall back” time change.

Walking dogs in the dark. Why I hate the “fall back” time change.

November 14, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Lady under the dog park halogen lights

I’m not going to lie. I hate the “fall back” part of fall. Give me Daylight Savings all year round and I’m a happy woman. My dogs are happier too.

Yes, that extra hour of sleep is nice, but then I have to contend with the sun setting at an earlier hour. Not much of a trade off in my mind. That extra hour gave me and my dogs time to go for a nice walk in the evenings, while the sun was still up. Now I get to enjoy daylight all day long while sitting in a cubicle at work – where I can least enjoy it, and by the time I get home it’s dark and cold outside.

Walking with my dogs after dark would not be a huge issue for me if not for the lack of sidewalks and too many fast drivers on our street. It makes me nervous to walk on my street because of those fast cars.

A few times last week, I was able to make it home in time to take the dogs to the dog park just as the sun set. Yes, this dog park is not my favorite, but at least it has good lighting and there are no speeding cars to contend with. Honestly though, most nights I get home and find myself coming up with reasons not to walk the dogs in the dark.

How are all of you dealing with the time change and making sure your dogs get enough exercise? Are there other ways that you are keeping your dogs busy? Or, are you walking in the dark too?

  1. November 14, 2011 at 7:21 AM

    Funny, I’ve been contemplating a post on how much I hate the darkness of fall and winter too. I have sidewalks to walk on, but I hate the cold and dark. It seriously affects my mood.

  2. November 14, 2011 at 7:25 AM

    I feel you! I also hate walking in the dark. We have good sidewalks but there are more critters out at night for Pearl to lunge after and we live in a city so I am not a fan of walking around after dark alone, even with the dog. My husband comes on evening walks more, we try to walk her right when we get home before dinner, and we are all waiting for daylight savings time to come back.

  3. November 14, 2011 at 7:43 AM

    We are walking in the dark as well and it definitely sucks. I hate that the sun is setting as I am leaving the office. It’s more than a little depressing. By the time I get home it’s pitch black and it feels like bed time. The last thing I want to do is head back out for a romp with the dog. But romp I shall as Shiva shouldn’t have to suffer for my doldrums. I find we do a lot more trick training over the winter, just so I don’t have to go out in the cold for as long. It exercises her brain at least, if not her body.

  4. Jen
    November 14, 2011 at 8:56 AM

    I don’t walk the dogs in the dark, We have to walk by a wooded area and it scares me! I always hear things rustling in there during the day and the thought of hearing it at night is freaky!!! One time I did walk them at night and I ran home screaming like a little girl with 2 Newfs in tow!!

  5. November 14, 2011 at 10:12 AM

    Ugh we hate that too!

    Stop on by for a visit
    Kari

    http://dogisgodinreverse.com/

  6. Jan
    November 14, 2011 at 12:25 PM

    I don’t know anyone who likes to go back to evening darkness and yet we have to do it. I light a lot of candles and that seems to help while i’m inside, but the darkness outside if pervasive.

  7. Anita
    November 14, 2011 at 1:47 PM

    I’m hoping to get myself organized enought to go into work an hour early so I can get off an hour early. Of course, this cuts into our morning walking time, but I feel more safe walking in the pre-dawn dark than after sunset.

  8. November 14, 2011 at 5:37 PM

    Hi Y’all,

    I too hate the time change, but there isn’t much we can do about the shorter daylight. It’s pitch black in the mornings too. At least my Humans are home and we can go for runs during the mid-day.

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  9. November 14, 2011 at 6:08 PM

    On the plus side, the dark makes it easier to see all the pretty twinkling lights that people are starting to put on their houses :) I like to take the dogs for a walk specifically to go look at all the Christmas decorations in the neighborhood.

  10. November 14, 2011 at 6:50 PM

    I also hate the time change but mostly because it’s so sudden. Yes, the dark of winter is hard but it’s the way the universe is ordered. I’d find it easier to handle if we never had daylight savings time and just worked with nature’s rhythms.

    That said, walking Honey at night is easier for me because I live in town and have the benefit of street lights. Would it be worth your while to drive the dogs to another neighborhood that’s easier to walk in?

  11. November 14, 2011 at 10:41 PM

    I’m not a fan of the cold or the dark either. Last winter I got really lucky and Rod walked the dogs about 80% of the time while I hibernated. I’m not sure how things will go this year, but I’m hoping to at least be in a place that’s warmer than Pennsylvania.

  12. November 15, 2011 at 9:19 AM

    I totally agree with you! It feel like I’m racing home to walk Bruno before it is completely dark out. I hate walking in the dark too. We do have good sidewalks and a nice park near by, but I still dread walking in the dark. I like going to the dog park so that Bruno can run free instead of pulling me around :) I would love to hear how they keep their dogs entertained when it is too cold or dark out to walk…

  13. November 15, 2011 at 10:57 AM

    Definitely NOT a fan of the cold and dark! Cali is black and fluffy (so the lighted collars don’t really work!) and we live in an older neighborhood with no sidewalks as well. I find myself ready to be a couch potato much earlier – I used to teach a 7 pm yoga class – but now I feel like I should be putting on my jammies instead of going out!! I love the long summer days :)

  14. November 15, 2011 at 12:11 PM

    i hate it too… I vastly prefer more light in the evening than in the morning (although at a certain point, I realize there’s not much of either).

  15. November 15, 2011 at 10:34 PM

    I agree with everyone. It gets spooky where we are. Although when there is snow on the ground, I find it isn’t bad because it lightens things up, even in the evenings. But I really miss being able to walk them later in the evening, only because it is my comfort zone.

  16. November 17, 2011 at 10:57 PM

    Since I work from home, I am fortunate to be able to walk the dogs whenever I want. The worst time change is the Spring. The dogs don’t understand that dinner time is pushed an hour ahead. It makes for some very interesting staring contests for a few days :D

    • Mel
      November 18, 2011 at 6:07 AM

      I used to be able to do the same thing Karen. I think that’s why I’ve been whining about it so much this year.
      Agree with you on the spring forward stuff too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,506 other followers

