Home > Dog Behavior, Fun Stuff, Health Care - Dogs, Pet Product Reviews, Pet Sitting, Pet Toys > Daisy and Jasper’s “Favorite Things”

Daisy and Jasper’s “Favorite Things”

December 11, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s the howliday season – which means, your furry friend has been dreaming of that perfect gift that he/she wants! What? You didn’t know? You haven’t you heard him mumbling in his sleep or waking you up to remind you of what she wants this year? Certainly, they’ve already given you a list right? No? Oh no.

Well, luckily Jasper and Daisy have put together a list of their favorite things from this past year. We hope these will give you some ideas as you head out shopping for your furry friend.

Daisy

Daisy’s Favorite Things
Daisy doesn’t play much (she just started getting the hang of it this year), but she does have some favorite things! Many of them are food oriented. Did I mention she is a Lab with a bottomless pit for a stomach?

3270011102_large.ashx1. Hartz Hedgehog – People have often heard me refer to Daisy’s “woobie”. Daisy’s woobie is also known as the Hartz Hedgehog and she carries it around all of the time – when she’s nervous or excited or just wants something to hold onto. It’s a perfect fit for her Labrador mouth. My biggest issue is keeping it safe from the other dogs who love it as much as she does! It is by far her MOST favorite thing!

home-dog 2. The Thundershirt – This one product has been a lifesaver for Daisy (and me!). Daisy is afraid of thunderstorms. She shakes and paces endlessly. But, once I put on the Thundershirt, Daisy becomes a calm dog. She often will go to her kennel and fall asleep! Now THAT is a great product.

force-lrg>3. The Honest Kitchen: Force – I’ve tried different dogs food with both Daisy and Jasper, but by far she prefers The Honest Kitchen Force flavor. I’ve never seen a dog get so excited to eat! She jumps up and down with excitement when she knows her food is ready (I even caught her trying to steal Jasper’s portion from his dish!). What I like about The Honest Kitchen is it’s healthy – no preservatives, no additives, and filled with fruits and vegetables and chicken. Simply add water and voila!

wobbler_PK_IMP 4. Kong Wobbler – The Kong Wobbler is a great toy to keep dogs busy. It’s durable, easy to use and fun for dogs. Simply put your dog’s kibble or their favorite treat in the bottom of the Wobbler and watch your dog push it back and forth. It reminds me of the Weeble Wobble toys we had when I was a kid. It certainly keeps Daisy busy.

6460108_L 5. Zukes Dog Treats – Like most Labs, Daisy will eat almost anything, but she LOVES Zukes treats. I use them for my training sessions with Daisy, or I will put a few in her Kong Wobbler to keep her busy while I am away. Salmon is her favorite flavor, but chicken and peanut butter are close seconds. Daisy likes them because they smell good, I like them because they are healthy and made with natural ingredients.

Jasper

Jasper’s Favorite Things – Unlike Daisy, Jasper will pretty much play with anything. His favorite things mostly involve toys that squeak and tennis balls, but here are some of his favorites!

kibblenibble1. Premier’s Kibble Nibble – By far, this has top be Jasper’s favorite. I put his kibble or treats in it and he will roll it all over the floor for a long time trying to get the treats out. Sometimes he even picks it up and drops it on the floor, hoping to knock a few out that way!

BB_TNT20092. Premier’s Twist and Treat - A variation on the same theme as the Kibble Nibble. This one is a little more durable so both Daisy and Jasper will play with it. The top and bottom twist off and the treats go in the middle. Twist the two halves together and let your dog have a bit of fun pushing it around.

410zggwSG7L._SL500_AA300_3. Kong Squeaky Balls – There’s really no mystery here. The balls area easy to catch and they squeak when a dog chews down on them. Jasper prefers these to all other tennis balls because he loves to squeak them over and over again (which is why all his Squeaker balls stay outside – I need my sanity!).

412xtInG3UL._SL500_AA300_4. Crazy Critters - There is only one thing Jasper likes better than squeaky toys and that is tearing the stuffing out of a stuffed toy that squeaks. I just recently found these and I have to say they are the best! They have all the appeal of a stuffed toy without the stuffing and they have squeakers at both ends of the toy. We have both the Fox and the Raccoon and they are a hit with Jasper. One word of warning – I discovered that once I washed them, the squeakers stopped working, so if you want to keep the fun going I would avoid washing as long as possible.

4815265787_3089a96300_m5. Elk Antlers – To tell the truth, both Jasper and Daisy like this product, but since Jasper has a habit of stealing it from Daisy all of the time I decided to add it to his list. Elk Antlers are great for strong chewers, especially the dog who chews up the bones that everyone says will last a long time (has anyone met Daisy?). I have had one Elk Antler for almost 6 months now and Jasper still chews on it!

There is one last “favorite” to mention. It’s actually on my Favorite’s List and it’s a pet store. Here in Minnesota we have a lot of the usual chain pet food stores, but there is one store that, in my opinion, stands above all others. It’s called Chuck and Don’s Pet Food Outlet.

I like Chuck and Don’s for many reasons, but chief among them is there dedication to customer service. I don’t know what kind of training the Chuck and Don’s staff goes through, but they are by far the best at customer service. They welcome you, ask if they can help you, they will order something if they don’t have it in stock and they even offer to carry your dog food out to your car! I really can’t say enough good things about them. I actually called our Eagan store one time to ask them for a name of a pet toy I was planning to feature in my client newsletter and the lady was able to tell what it was called and who made it based on just a description over the phone! They are also active in supporting animal rescue organizations, pet adoptions other great organizations and events. That is why they are MY favorite thing.

  1. December 11, 2010 at 6:32 PM

    My name is Ike Kinlaw, Founder of TrimDog. I would like to share with you a new and different product that may be of benefit to your readers. The TrimDog Weight Loss System teaches pet parents healthy eating habits utilizing quality food and how to maximize fat burning using the TrimDog weight belt to increase their dog’s metabolism. All clients receive free ongoing online support to help them personalize their dog’s diet and exercise regimen to ensure that they get fit and healthy. Please contact us if Daisy would like a sample product to review or to offer as a giveaway on Facebook or your website for your readers. Thank you for your consideration in this matter. Happy Howlidays:)

  2. December 11, 2010 at 6:34 PM

    Oh the Kong Wobbler and Crazy Critters are fave in this Husky household too! Elk antlers…? I had never heard of them. I have some powerful chewers, so I’ll have to ask Santa to check into that and maybe add it to the FiveSibes’ wish list! We hope Daisy and Jasper get rewarded with everything on their list this Christmas morning!

    • Mel
      December 11, 2010 at 6:44 PM

      Thanks FiveSibes! Yup. The Elk Antlers are hugely popular here. Whenever I have dogs stay with me it’s the first thing they go for. I like the fact that they last so long. If you get some, let me know what you think!

  3. December 14, 2010 at 11:44 AM

    I think I might have to get a Crazy Critter for Jersey, the Queen of the squeeker toys.

    • Mel
      December 15, 2010 at 7:14 AM

      I love the Crazy Critters V.V.! No more stuffing all over the floor!

  1. December 11, 2010 at 6:19 AM
  2. December 19, 2011 at 7:04 AM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,461 other followers

