Home > Pet News, Pet Topics, Pet Videos > Dogs? Nope. It’s about Dairy Cows today.

Dogs? Nope. It’s about Dairy Cows today.


Normally, this blog is about dogs. Not today.

Today it is about cows. Dairy cows to be more specific.

On Wednesday night, I saw a news story and video so disturbing that I physically recoiled and flinched in horror. The video was taken by Mercy for Animals at Conklin Dairy Farms Inc. In it (the video) you see workers at the dairy farm abusing dairy cows with such ferocity that I can only think these people are not meant to be a part of society. Abuse didn’t just include adult dairy cows, but calves, and it included “holding down newborn calves and stomping on their heads…, one worker wiring a cow’s nose to a metal bar near the ground and repeatedly beating it with another bar while it bled”, kicking cows, stabbing them with pitchforks, and other abuse. Trust me. This video is one of the most disturbing I have ever seen.

According to the owners of Conklin Dairy Farms - “The video shows animal care that is clearly inconsistent with the high standards we set for our farm and its workers, and we find the specific mistreatment shown on the video to be reprehensible and unacceptable,” and “We will not condone animal abuse on our farm.”

Here is what I am wondering Conklin Dairy Farms: How is it possible that your company could have so little oversight over your workers that you could miss abuse such as this? How is it possible you didn’t know this was going on under your own roof? Are you so disconnected from your business that you don’t even know what goes on in a day-to-day basis? And, what are you going to do to ensure that this never happens again?

We await your answers.

In the meantime, I am grateful that one worker has been charged with animal cruelty, but with 12 counts of animal cruelty against him I know that his punishment will be much less gruesome than the abuse he meted out to these animals. What a shame.

If you as the reader can watch this whole video then you are bigger person than me.

  1. Betti
    May 30, 2010 at 4:07 PM

    Thanks for posting this. I posted the video on facebook and it was flagged. One comment was that it was too horrible to watch. That’s why I posted it! Everyone needs to see that this can happen. If we get angry enough we’ll do something about it.

    • Mel
      May 30, 2010 at 5:39 PM

      Thanks for wanting to share this video Betti. I understand the frustration since I also tried to embed this video in my post via YouTube only to discover it was labeled too graphic and required users to sign in before viewing. Feel free to share my blog post since it contains the video as linked from the group who filmed it. I think everyone needs to know what is going on. I couldn’t watch the whole thing, but saw enough to be deeply disturbed by it. That’s all it takes to make a difference. Thank you!

  2. June 1, 2010 at 1:20 AM

    I was browsing the web and came across your blog. I’m a dairyman, and the Ohio abuse incident is definitely not representative of all dairies! Watching the video made me sick to my stomach.. It angered me that people would think that that psychopath in the video represents all dairy. What angered me the most was that the Mercy For Animals guy that was filming the incident did nothing to stop what was going on.. The guy filming is equally involved.

    I’ve started my own blog to help tell people what happens on a real dairy farm, and the amount of care we give to our animals. Here is the link http://crazymoos.wordpress.com

    • Mel
      June 1, 2010 at 2:16 AM

      Thank you for your response. I am equally appalled at the abuse shown on the video. My father was a dairy farmer before I was born and my uncle was a dairy farmer while I was growing up. I saw firsthand how well he treated his animals, so I KNOW this video is not representative of all dairy farmers. It makes me sad to think that this might be used as an argument against all dairy farmers because I know that not all dairy farmers are like this.
      I too was conflicted over the man taking the video, but I don’t know how this kind of abuse would have exposed without it. I know I could not have stood by while it was going on. But, that’s me. I hope that you can educate people on the humane treatment of farm animals. In fact, I welcome it.

  3. jules
    February 20, 2011 at 3:57 PM

    What an absolute waste of space this human is. I hope he gets whats coming to him.
    I am in two minds about the person taking the video as well, but you have to be able to prove it to stop it happening to other cows. I have a dairy calf I rescued from a diary because she happened to be a twin with a boy. She is a delight and keeps the grass down. You would think in this day an age instead of breeding cows to get the milk and then killing the poor little calfs becasue they happen to be twins or boys they could work out a way of getting them to produce milk without getting them pregnant.
    I’m appalled and I only watched 30 seconds before stopping it.

  4. July 18, 2012 at 6:38 AM

    I have an affinity for bovine and we used to raise cattle on our farm. There’s no way I can watch the video. In my opinion this is just one result of factory farming and how the world is changing… not in a good way.

    • Mel
      July 18, 2012 at 6:56 AM

      I completely agree Sue. My uncle was a dairy farmer and I spent many summers there on the farm. He never treated his cattle this way. Ever. Factory farms are not where I want to get my food from. Probably a good idea you didn’t see the video.

  5. Adele
    January 29, 2014 at 1:54 AM

    Can I use your photo about dairy cow? I am from Korea. And I need your photo for making Advertisement. Please be my helper!!!!! :)

    • Mel
      January 29, 2014 at 6:20 AM

      It came from Microsoft Clip Art. It’s public and free.

  1. March 1, 2012 at 6:57 AM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,541 other followers

